Why i moved to LinuxsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

In 2013, i was introduced to Ubuntu. I was really frustrated with windows viruses, adware & bloatware at that time. So, Ubuntu was great for me. I didnt know it was linux. I only know it was a free operating system made by a company named canonical.

Later on i slowly came to know it is a linux operating system. At the same time i also came to know about the word open source and how it revolutionaized the IT industry.

Initially i dual booted windows / ubuntu on my pc because i had some windows specific programs which aren't available on ubuntu. But later i came to know about wine which is a compatability layer enabling windows programs to work on linux. Although, it cant handle games quiet well, I was happy it worked with programa i have.

In 2015, I moved to linux as my only operating system on PC ditching windows completetely. I didnt turn back till now expect in a few situations i used windows in a VM. That's it.

Frankly, Many people are afraid of linux because they think they need to lean commands. But, thats not the case. Everything can be done via graphical interface. I would suggest linux mint for newbies. Regarding the app availablity, yes, linux has a fewer apps compared to windows. But, as i said above, Wine will solve that problem in most cases.

The main advantages of using linux are:

  • Need not pay for the OS (you can donate to the OS devs. It is optional)

  • Risk of attracting virus, ransomware is minimal. I cant say linux is immune, But is far less affectes than windows.

  • If a vulnerability is detected, it gets patched in hours or days. On the otherside windows takes few weeks to months

  • Awesome people to help you. Operating systems like debian, Linux mint, ubuntu have awesome communities & forums who help you.

Sort:  

picture is not true, but funny ;)

Yes it is 😉

Agree, people tend to assume that you need to be a geek and have to work with the command line often.
Here is my storie: https://steemit.com/linux/@zebulon/from-testing-to-using-linux

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.40
ETH 2525.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47