Temporarily Discontinuing New STEEM.GLOBAL Fauceteer License Issuance!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

stahp.png



It's come to my attention that a handful of users have taken it upon themselves to once again create multiple accounts in an attempt to drain the STEEM.GLOBAL faucet.

Twas foolish of me to think that by charging a small 1 STEEM fee for faucet access would have any great effect in stopping people from creating multiple accounts and the code that I had attempting to block multiple account sign ups from the same IP appears to have been circumvented with use of TOR or VPN. Rather than reward such activity with free STEEM I've chosen to stop issuing Fauceteer licenses on site until a better protection method is created.

A Warning to All Present & Future Multi Accounters

Users found multi accounting or exploiting the faucet ( yes... That means you @arie22 + others ) will have their fauceteer licences revoked, STEEM seized and accounts permanently terminated. While this may seem a bit harsh I have a zero tolerance policy when it comes to taking advantage of the generosity of others.

Current Fauceteer License Holders

Those currently holding fauceteer licenses on STEEM.GLOBAL will have the remainder of your 30 day subscription honoured and assuming I can stay on top of the wallet (which seems to be running more stable) will be able to withdraw funds at their own leisure. To be clear I'm not shutting down the faucet by any means however until I can tighten up the faucet against would be exploiters cannot risk to have any new accounts faucet enabled.

Replacement of the Current Faucet System

I'm looking into a few options now to replace the current STEEM.GLOBAL faucet system. While the code running the faucet works well when the wallet is up it lacks the security needed to protect the faucets funds from would be exploiters given it's all running off of experimental code that I'd built as a PHP coding exercise. Over the next week or so I will be testing a few faucet methods that I've dug up that have potential to be ported to STEEM.


VOTE @KLYE FOR WITNESS

steemit.com/~witnesses
Sort:  

PS. How did you lose your right hands thumb?

They didn't just steal faucet STEEM. They stole his thumb.

lmfao

Canadians sure have interesting hobbies. :p

Hi Ping - @klye ,
i uploaded final version of LOGO including Colorful, black and white versions.
i uploaded .svg files .
If you need some modification or different type of extension, inform me on steemit.chat

You are the man! Thank you. I'll hop on there shortly

I don't wanna sound harsh, but I think it would be in the best interest of your own time to just leave the faucet to rest.

Literally every account with more than 1k SP can give out votes valued more than what a faucet could bring, without having them visit another site with ads, while incentivizing them to comment or post more.

Not to mention the changes in the curve and the 4x more rewards per 100% vote will make faucets even more obsolete.

Scrap the faucet? I'd played with the idea but ultimately feel it would be a waste of server to just have me seed node running there and nothing else.

My faucet site has no ads on it at the moment.. Will have to consider my options. though for sure. :/

Maybe instead of the usual ads, Steemians could donate Steem to the faucet wallet in order to have a banner linking to their account and describing the topics they cover? Example:

banner draft.png

I haz teh MSpaint skillz.

I'd played with that idea as well..

The big issue is preventing multi accounters.

That would probably require something like setting a reputation minimum, which would be counterproductive to your goal of supporting newcomers.

Indeed. Kind of a conundrum.

copy the method steemit uses to deter multi register-ers? require phone? how do other paltforms do it? I love the faucet site design - crisp.

that sucks ... You worked hard on this, sad to see that people are cheating and abusing your nice faucet and service :(

I was looking forward for a level 2 license haha

Keep up the great work @klye, take care fellow Canadian :)

Eh, I failed to secure it against potential threats and therefore must place what I created. :/

Cheers man

I agree! Zero tolerance.
Thanks for the work you do around here... Helping making this community a better place!
Already gave you my witness vote, so today it's just an uovote!
Girls & Pot!

Thanks Jonny!

I'll take the pot please. Women seem to complicate my life.

Good luck

No luck needed. Just keep pluckin' away to it grooves.

Btw can we withdrawal yet from global?

Should be able to.. Wallet crashed again some time throughout the night but got it working again now.

I withdrawal when i asked you now i woke up and still 2nd time i dont received

Works on my end..

What account name?

My only acc ... deez91

Look into it here shortly man. Sorry for the delay.

Just a real shame there are so many who try to game the system... "Here, let me give you a hand..." ... "thanks, let me grab BOTH your arms!"

This is why we can't have nice things. :P

Thanks for trying to be a good guy, and catching the sneaky crooks.

I wish I knew about this! Sign me up for next faucet system. Cross my heart I'm honest :-)

The new system will be open to everyone and do away with the fauceteer license fee and whatnot. :)

Keep up the great work boss @klye

Cheers young padawan.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97