Farewell to Dan Larimer AKA @dan / @dantheman

in #blog7 years ago

I'd just looked at the front page after spending the day getting my new dedicated witness server up and running after breaching the top 19 earlier today. Seems our former CTO (Chief Technical Officer) Dan Larimer has decided to part ways with Steemit Inc, sad to hear this.

Love him or hate him Dan was an integral part of getting STEEM developed and released for our usage and in part all of us owe this man some gratitude in inventing the architecture behind our amazing network. He's an incredibly gifted individual and I wish him the best of luck in his future projects. Any team you get in with next will be blessed to have such a brilliant mind on their side and I can't imagine anything you work on won't be awesome.

While my interactions with @dan / @dantheman were somewhat limited I always got an extremely stoic vibe from the guy, his ability to understand and forgive was something I'll always respect. Even though I laid into him a few times in misunderstanding he never held it against me personally and on more than one occasion took time out of his day to explain to me things I wasn't entirely educated on. He even went as far to support my witness even after I'd foolishly misunderstood some of his posts and went off on a tangent about them.

Damn good man in my humble opinion, I don't think I'd be where I am today if not for him.

You Shall Be Missed Around Here @dan

Good luck on your next projects and I wish you great success in the future.


Vote @klye for Witness!

( Currently Holding Down Rank #17 ... TOP 19 BABY, YEAH)

https://steemit.com/~witnesses


A Proud STEEMbassador of Canada

Thank you for your votes, the opportunity and support!

Sort:  

Congratulations on getting into the top 19...finally :)

Thanks Merej99! Getting my witness infrastructure hardened and deploying a new dedicated server to cope with the added load but I'm pretty damn excited.. Sort of a boost and a new lease on life it feels like!

...and I thought it was the dick pics. LOL just kidding << kind of
Seriously though - you've worked hard and there's no doubt about your passion for the platform. Kudos to you. <3

Dick pics always help.

Nice lvl 69 btw. ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 25 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.50 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Announcing the new SteemIT CTO Klye! :)

Please god no. lol

Well done on getting into top 19 - you had my vote all the time

Highly appreciate the ongoing support of my witness campaign sir!

hey klye do you have any source i can read to tell me what a witness does? lol :) i'd like to understand more

https://steemit.com/steemit-guides/@pfunk/a-full-steemit-user-s-guide-to-steem-witnesses

^ Not a bad explaination by pfunk.

TL;DR: We run the servers that the STEEM network runs on.

thanks a lot! :)

Top 19, A long time coming but you got there!

Finally reached top 19 man!!! Congrats! Believed in you since day 1!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56905.21
ETH 2508.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36