Getting into Crypto with Exodus walletsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago

Hello Steemians, I would like to share some of my early experience of getting into Crypto and how I stumbled across Exodus and some of the nice features the wallet has to offer. For many, this won't be new but for some it might offer different insight.

With Ethereum getting hype in 2017 and researching Blockchain for my spring capstone project. Ethereum, cryptocurrency as an ecosystem had yet to prove itself to me. It was so hard to know where to start it felt like I jumped into the middle of the ocean and I had no idea where the shore was. If I were to get into mining I only had the resources I had currently, I couldn't buy any new equipment. Mining Crypto was a curiosity and how bad could it be?

Getting first exposure to nanopool and dual Ethereum miners it left me confused. I needed a wallet of some kind, being a beginner I wanted a unified wallet I didn't want a wallet per coin each syncing with the blockchain to be able to use it. This was when I first found videos of Amanda from The Daily Decrypt and Omar from crypt0snews. Amanda went over the different unified wallets that were on the mobile and web wallets.

<\center>

<\center>
Omar went over wallets from in a security point of view, from Least to MOST Secure.
Without them I wouldn't have entered the crypto space, Many thanks!

.
Desktop hot wallets seemed to be best option to start, one with elegant design, many coins supported within one application, functionality was simple, techsupport staff, advance developer features were easy to enable and explore, easy way to backup and restore without syncing with the whole Blockchain. That wallet was was Exodus.


Image courtesy of Exodus.io

Now that I had a wallet with coins supported on Exodus I grabbed my Ethereum and Decred addresses and went back to nanopool for round two! I had no idea how to edit config files or start a miner. Usually my attempts it would freeze my computer and a forced restart was needed. Taking a break from crypto to work on my studies I eventually found Nicehash, it was great for beginners. Just needed to set my Bitcoin address run a benchmark to see what my hardware can mine and Ooh Mai Gosh! Why is my R9 290X running at 90C?!

At this point, I was scared to mine. I didn't know about overclocking tools to control fan speed, undervolt, change clock speeds (Wow I came a long way, I was able to get some Bitcoin and eventually moved away from nicehash to mine zencash before nicehash was hacked).

I was thinking, maybe it was safer to buy coins on coinbase. If I trade a bit maybe one day I'll afford a 1080 TI with my coin jar or it’ll flop (and that day finally came recently). At the time I didn't have accounts in Bittrex or Poloniex. Exodus was the best way to use shapeshift either built-in or send funds from coinbase to shapeshift and receive on Exodus. It was really nifty! Note: you may notice shapeshift is a bit pricer on Exodus than it is on the website but it helps fund the project.

Exodus has really grown, since release they added support for the following coins:

ASSETDATE SUPPORTED
Bitcoin (BTC)Dec. 9, 2015
Litecoin (LTC)Dec. 9, 2015
Ethereum (ETH)Feb. 12, 2016
Dash (DASH)Apr. 8, 2016
Golem (GNT)Apr. 14, 2017
Augur (REP)Apr. 27, 2017
Decred (DCR)Jun. 22, 2017
EOS (EOS)Jul. 6, 2017
Aragon (ANT)Jul. 6, 2017
Gnosis (GNO)Jul. 20, 2017
OmiseGo (OMG)Aug. 17, 2017
Basic Attention Token (BAT)Aug. 31, 2017
Civic (CVC)Sep. 15, 2017
SALT(SALT)Sep. 25, 2017
Bitcoin Cash (BCH)Oct. 12, 2017
Ethereum Classic (ETC)Oct. 12, 2017
FunFair (FUN)Oct. 26, 2017
District0x (DNT)Oct. 26, 2017
Bancor (BNT)Jan. 19 2018
Bitcoin Gold (BTG)Jan. 19 2018
Edgeless (EDG)Jan. 19 2018
FirstBlood (1ST)Jan. 19 2018
Matchpool (GUP)Jan. 19 2018
Numeraire (NMR)Jan. 19 2018
iExec RLC (RLC)Jan. 19 2018
Status (SNT)Jan. 19 2018
WeTrust (TRST)Jan. 19 2018
Wings (WINGS)Jan. 19 2018
0xJan. 19 2018

Source: http://support.exodus.io/article/96-exodus-wallet-roadmap

Compared to Jaxx wallet they don't have as many coins, but Exodus does extensive testing and has a public beta for any new coins they're trying to support. They really care for the user experience and want to maintain a quality product. I recently got a ledger but I still adore Exodus wallet. The wallet may not be opensource but so far the support staff have been really good to me and helped get my coins back when shapeshift got wonky when new coins were just added.

For people just starting out I would definitely recommend Exodus as a way of receiving funds and do some basic trades. Gradually get them into exchanges and mining, full wallet nodes and paper wallets. It's a gradual process and everyone gets into the space differently, it's definitely a life changing experience.

This was not an Endorsement from the Exodus team, I genuinely like their product

Sort:  

Great bit of information, I have heard of exodus wallet before but never looked in to it. After reading your review, I'm intrigued to saw the least. I'll be looking at Exodus closer.

I'm very very pleased I caught your interest, the public beta has a much larger list of coins including zcash and monero but support is very limited. The beta is called Exodus Eden

Congratulations @kittysilhouette! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57824.98
ETH 3133.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42