And the 2080 mining troubleshooting saga continues

in #blog5 years ago

Good evening Steemians,

Hopefully everyone is enjoying the beginning of the weekend and I hope everyone is discovering something new and having some fun.

I woke up early this morning in hopes of making a dent into my homework. But I've had a nagging thought in my mind. Can I get all my GPUs mining again. The latest Nvidia drivers are out. Maybe I can get my 2080s hashing away. I've spent most of the day doing trial and error trying to come up with some conclusion why my display drivers keep crashing. A black flash on the screen, fans spin at 100% and I can no longer control my founder's card and on the latest 416.81 driver I've experienced my first blue screen of death with these 2080 cards.

20181110_093638.jpg

I've tried reinstalling the driver about three times, Precision X1. And using DDU uninstalling graphics completely and going back to original release drivers. I still get crashes.

20181110_093652.jpg

Odd thing is if I mine with my EVGA 2080 alone it's fine with stock gpu clock, memory, auto fan profile and 75 C Temperature limit linked with power limit of 81% I think. But if I mine with my Founder's edition with similar profile it crashes quickly. Mind you I'm trying to get homework done while I run these many many trials.. but I noticed the crashes tend to happen around 70C. So on my Founder’s Card I brought GPU temp to 65C and linked to power limit that's about 56% it hashes for a long time but it's ridiculous I have to hold back these cards so much to make sure they mine stable on Nicehash. Maybe it's a temperature bug but this is certainly not the fix. I still get crashes. In frustration I disabled static virtual memory and changed my windows settings to best performance and let Nvidia control determine performance based on applications. I installed Nvidia drivers 416.81 and applied my most recent settings.

wip.PNG

Noticing the line graphs on MSI Afterburner looks like when mining ethereum there's periodic drops in work or GPU load. I'm starting to wonder if this is too jarring for the GPUs and that's what crashes the drivers. Maybe it is time to explore what else I can mine other Nicehash. I just love the fact I get paid in Bitcoin and it's practically a stable coin now.

I hope you guys that have 2080s are fairing much better. Please let me know of any of your findings.

Take care everyone, have a wonderful evening. Time to hit the books again

Sort:  

Too bad you can't seem to get the GPU thing under control. Not much I can advise since I don't have any experience with 2080s. OuO'

If only this was true:


If only everything just works @.@

Oddly my EVGA 2080 XC continues to hash regardless of driver crash, it doesn't care. I would have ordered two if it wasn't limited one per customer during the pre-order

A day late vote from me... Why? Because oddly enough I was working on trying to get all my GPU's up and mining. Apparantly my 3 gtx 650's are outdated or broke or idk... I tried putting them on my linux shelf machine, moved them here, there, nobody likes them any more. Maybe I'll hang on to them and try them on a new machine on tbe future as just fillers until I can get something to replace them with. Maybe I'll try and overclock them until they catch fire...
The day is done and I'm hovering around 3 kh/s on cryptonight so that aint to bad considering.
It's a mix of junk I have but it works for now.
I've got:
7 gtx 750ti's
1 RX 580
2 RX 570
1 RX 470
and 1 more 570 coming back to me this week.
I'm going to tryand get all the gtx's on one machine and all the RX's on one machine later this week. That will free up a machine to try and run the 3 gtx 650's by themselves on the free machine and see if I cant get back to 4 -4.5kh/s

PS.
Something tells me you're running in to power supply issues...

Would be cool to have a hobby shop and mess with these things side by side ^o^

I kinda like the idea of running the card until it dies and/or catches fire. -batman voice while holding a graphics card- "First, you must make ROI... Then you have my permission to die" after my GPU repair of changing fans and putting new thermopaste I feel confident of running GPUs long term. As long as the system boots it's hashing.

That's a lot of hash o.o I wonder how much Bitcoin that Monero is worth a day. I was making about 0.4-0.5miliBTC which is like 3.20$ a day on 4 cards? But on average I'm getting like 0.3 which is a little over 2$ bleh. A step closer to ROI of my 1080ti I got a year ago XD

I think it's going to be interesting with the new Vega cards come out. Probably going sip electricity and hash decently. Maybe not as high as a 590 but if the price is right. ^o^

Any ideas how to test the PSU? I dunno if swapping pcie cables is enough and see if the issue follows. I took a multimeter to all the pinouts when my R9 290x blew voltages we're good but dunno about amps and watts @.@ I don't think a lick test is a good idea either lol the only other PSU I have is like a 450 watt. Darn cheapy thing.

Took out all my RX's and changed the timings then flashed the bios on all of them. I gained almost 1000 h/s. Crazy... Now the one machine makes 2800 h/s with
2 570's
1 580
1 470
That's pretty damned good.

.... Had a PSU failure today. Luckily I had a replacement and I added that one I sent the ad to you..the $29 one. It works great. A little noisy and a little hard getting the wires on to the terminals but one of the best buys I've made this year.

Ohmygoodness I'm glad to hear there was no fire and you didn't get hurt tinkering with it while your PSU blew.

An extra 1000 hashes is awesome! Quite the bold upgrade! I'm glad it worked out. I hope I have a moment this weekend to tinker with my setup.

For Thanksgiving I'm expecting family to visit. I wonder what their reaction will be when they see my modest set up on a mining frame and making quite the space heater ^o^

Put the one thats giving you troubles on the 450 by itself. If it a atx psu you'll have to jumper two of the pins so it will run by itself. Worth a try.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62