Upgraded

in #blog8 years ago

desktop

Ok so now im on windows 10.. it was a big pain in the ass to install. I went almost 2 days attempting this and finally said screw it and formatted one of my hard drives. I'm not even really sure it was worth it to be honest. I swap the hdd from my laptop to my desktop when I'm gonna go for awhile not using the laptop. So I get into 10 finally and try to access my files on it, nope i don't have permission.. so i try to access the files on the old main drive that still has all my work and game development related stuff on it, my wallets, everything.. nope.. no permission to do that either... WTF..

I really don't feel like going through the security settings to change that stuff, but I guess I will have to and hope for the best it doesn't lock me out permanently if I load windows from one of those drives randomly. Why is Microsoft such a pain in the ass and they wonder why most pc users would rather use Linux or Mac.. well Mac would be going a bit far, sorry Mac users, not a fan.. Anyway I felt like ranting a bit about everything I don't like about this so far... Don't get me started on the hibernation file that is created.. especially if you have a small partition meant just to run windows on.. Installation requires 8gb minimum, I figured 14gb would be plenty. I was wrong... The hibernation file literally eats up all the remaining space trying to match the amount of ram you have, in my case it was 20gb.
spec10

So here is some helpful info to get rid of that, press windows key + x, click command prompt(admin), type powercfg -h off. That is the only way to disable it as normal means through the power options do not work. I went through the normal means that worked for 7 and 8, disabled Superfetch, indexing, deleted the files in c:/windows/software distribution/ from windows update.. nothing helped on that 14gb partition. So I decided to erase the entire hard drive. Tried to extend the the unallocated space by merging it with the partition windows 10 was on and the damn drive turned dynamic.

For those that don't know much about what im talking of, that means windows will not run, windows cannot be installed to a dynamic drive post windows 2000. So I had to go completely old school dos on it. Thats where the diskpart command came in. I was able to use diskpart to erase the drive again, clean it up, and repartition it back to normal. I have no idea why windows disk manager can't do the same, the diskpart command was made before dos was even phased out. So my thing I'm starting to think is microsoft doesn't want us users messing around in there that understand dos. Meaning if you get in there and fuck shit up(excuse my language) your completely screwed unless you have been using a computer since before windows was even thought of.

Ok I'm done ranting now, gonna go play with this thing and see how much difference there is for gaming. If you enjoy my articles, follow me, and be sure to upvote if you find the information in this post helpful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68008.50
ETH 3261.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66