My best birthday present EVER !

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

So, this morning i have finally decided to clean up my room after a month of bugging from my mother. While i was doing so, i managed to find a certain something in my room. After so many years, i have actually forgotten that i own one of these badass.

DSC_0118[1].JPG

DSC_0119.JPG

As i held this 'treasure' in my hand, the memories of the day when i first got this came flooding right back to me. It was my 9th birthday that day and I'm telling you that its the best birthday present that i have ever gotten in my life so far! And thanks to this i got brought into the world of pokemon.

Leafgreen version was the first pokemon game i played among many others. That moment when you successfully captured a legendary pokemon, when the pokeball finally spurt out those yellowish thingy after dozens and dozens of tries and pressing the A button fiercely even when you know its actually not helping, that feeling can't be expressed in words.

82a9a3faddd043a18a0496e5d75a2ce73248cc91_hq.jpg

Though Leafgreen version might be amazing, the best has to be Emerald version in my opinion. That scene where you summon Rayquaza to stop the battle between Groudon and Kyogre is astonishing ! Honestly i never expect something like that, i thought that it was just a normal 2D game ! Not to mention the after story that was so rich in content, ah.... the Battle Frontier ! I grinned as the wonderful melody of the Battle Frontier theme song begin to play inside my brain. Quickly, i inserted the Leafgreen cartridge into my gameboy and started to play instead of cleaning up the room. It felt so damn nostalgic when i saw Professor Oak appears on my screen and ask me, are you a boy? or a girl?

DSC_0118_1498638758435.JPG

Quite unfortunately, all of my cartridges are not playable anymore as they are all corrupted ( well not exactly not playable, its just that its unable to save your progress in the game ), even the original versions. After an hour of messing around with my gameboy, i closed it and put it on my room's display shelf so that everytime i see it, i will remember what an awesome childhood i had.

Sadly, I'm pretty sure the gameboy is outdated as i know that you could just download the emulator and rom and play it through your phone now. I tried it and it just doesn't feel the same anymore but still, I'm really glad that this was my childhood.

That's all i wanted to share. Thanks for the people who read it. Now, what is the best birthday gift that you have ever received ? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 52752.07
ETH 2324.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12