Become a continuous learner

in #blog2 months ago

I have never met a smart person who doesn't read every day. No, not even one. Buffett reads so much, and I read so much, that you may be surprised. The kids all laughed at me. They thought I was a book with two legs. --Charlie Munger

When I was in junior high school, my classmates all liked to chase stars. Almost all the classmates in the class liked Jay Chou, so they all wrote Jay Chou in their personal idols. But I had no idea about chasing stars at the time, so in order to play with my classmates, I wrote Jay Chou like my classmates. One day, my deskmate said that Joey Yung was not good-looking. He was an opinion leader in our class at the time, so I followed his opinion that Joey Yung was not good-looking. One day, I told my classmate in the next class that Joey Yung was not good-looking, and the classmate in the next class laughed at me and said, "Do you know who Joey Yung is? Have you heard her songs?"

From then on, I realized that I might not have my own opinions. I just followed others and had no ability to think independently.

Later, when I went to college, I became very independent and my classmates were also annoyed by me. I played with students from other colleges and tried to follow my peers. When I was a graduate student, the classmates around me became unfamiliar. I began to think about the meaning of going to school, but since I had already reported to study, I could not drop out. I could only listen to my tutor and read more books. I read popular novels from design majors, psychology, sociology, folk art, etc. I took my second-hand kindle full of physical buttons and finished reading "Ordinary World" in one late night after another, and then read all the novels of Lu Yao, and read all the novels of Yu Hua one by one.

One night after another of reading during my graduate studies calmed my heart and made me develop a habit of reading. Until now, I will tell people around me: The biggest gain I gained during my graduate studies was to develop a habit of reading and studying. Later, I went to Beijing to work. It took a long time to commute to and from work every day. The signal in the subway was not good, so I could only read news and read books. In order to stop myself from reading headlines, I uninstalled the Toutiao App and left only this reading App. While riding the subway, I read psychology, experience, management, design, etc., from "The Courage to Be Disliked" to "Five Elements of User Experience", "Stay Out of the Matter", etc., and gradually my psychological knowledge became rich, and I decided to output what I saw through my own words so that others could understand and read it. In this way, I switched from reading to writing.

My mother told me since I was a child that I should learn until I die, but I didn't have the concept at that time. Now for a worker who is almost 35 years old, learning until I die is such a rare and precious habit. Every day, all kinds of gossip and funny short videos fill our time, and being able to read books has become a rare habit. If I stand in the present and share some reading experience with everyone, I might say this.

Goal-oriented, in order to develop the habit of reading for ourselves, the first goal is to develop the habit. In the early stage, we can try to read for 5 minutes every day. It is estimated that 5 minutes will read about 2,000 words, and turning three or four pages will almost reach the goal. This is the early stage, very simple, let yourself turn a few pages and read a few pages every day. After persisting for 2 weeks, we can try to increase the time, from 5 minutes of daily reading to 10 minutes. In these 10 minutes, we read a few more pages and keep reading for 2 weeks. If we can finish reading every day, it will have been 1 month. In this 1 month, we may have developed the habit of reading, but it is not so consolidated. At this time, we can selectively read for 5 minutes or 15 minutes. The span of reading time should not be too large. This is to develop a habit. Some friends will ask, what book should I read? I would like to give you a suggestion on this point. No matter what book it is, as long as you can read it, it is a good book. If you can't read it, don't pity it, put it down immediately and change it to a book you can read. Because our goal is to develop the habit of reading, and habit is the most important goal. As for what book to read, it is for the goal, don't care.

After developing the habit of reading, you can try writing. Express your own views in plain words so that everyone can understand and understand. Just like this, one day or two days, one week or two weeks, one month or two months, I believe that if you persist for a year, you will see great changes.

Finally, let us all become people who continue to learn.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60250.23
ETH 2335.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52