Probably the Most Important Thing You Should do on Steemit is Develop a Following

in #blog8 years ago

 Most people joining steemit might think the first thing the got to do is make a lot of money. Yes some individuals might get lucky and hit it off the first time, but if no one follows you from your lucky post it might be harder to repeat your success.

Up votes are important as well, not for their monetary value, but what they do to add to your reputation. You do not want to have a bad reputation because your articles post or blogs and get any attention because people might think you are a bot. It is important to also to reply to your audience. It makes them feel important and forms a connection and relationship with them. 

With the following comes more consistency with up votes and payouts per blog post. What most people don't realize though is something goes viral not because a lot of people may share it but it only takes one person to share it a lot. If you have more people following you there might be a chance that they also recommend your blog to others. It is a very complex, but very beautiful side of networking.

The beautiful thing about steemit is everyone sees everyone's post and it's not just friends like with Facebook who can see a person's post. Every day you post you expose yourself to new people who might find an interest in what you have to say.

That's the problem I found with other social media sites, I wanted to find an outlet where I can share ideas, my art, photography, with others without having to annoy them with the link to another website. With Facebook I felt like I would be annoying people by sharing certain things because it might not be mainstream information. And for the most part things I would have shared would have stood within the same circle of friends and not reach much further than that.

Here on you steemit for the most part seems like a very open minded community who are interested in much of the things that I am interested in such as gardening, permaculture,technology, crypto currency, art, space, and a list of many other things.


So yes the money aspect of it is very cool, but it might not be the most important part. If you can build a strong following of people your steemit experience will be out of this world. Another thing to remember is your following can have the potential grow exponentially just as steemit does. No guarantees though as with anything it will take work.

Remember it may not be easy at first but as long as you keep it positive mind and try to post every day it will get easier and easier over time. Keep on steeming!

Sort:  

When I started steemit I had a problem of what to post and how to write them but when I started writing, ideas started coming into my head and realized that I have so much to post.

I thought** this was a great post**, so I linked it in my newest post now that I have reached more than 100 followers. I hope you don't mind, and THANKS. Keep picking up steem Ruben, (and followers).

No Problem I'm happy for other people's success just as much as mine if not more, I invited @ppplant to steemit because I felt like this platform would be perfect for her and she would make a great member to the community, I am happy to help as many people as possible. It's good for both of us and others as well. Congrats on your milestone! Thanks!

You're welcome. Keep building the community and doing what you can. That makes papa happy.

This is very true and a useful tip. I am lucky that the marijuana tag is so big on here for my glass work and there are many engaging comminity members.

Very happy for your success! Hopefully they will continue to be engaged,

Great advice!

Steem on,
Mike

Thank you!

The best advice I have read so far. Thank You. These things do take time. Persistence is important.

Glad I can help, No problem. Agreed!

I am sooooooo thankful for my followers. I probably would have given up a long time ago if it weren't for them. They keep me going.

I have been saying this for ages. The whole whale voting thing is a distraction. The long game is to develop a following and grow it over time. In some ways the high payouts are a curse in this regard as they blind people to the long term potential and some may quit if they don't have instant success.

I just hope people will stick to it. Maybe if they really think about it and know that their time is better spent here than other social media sites. Even if they earn just a penny.

Steem becomes almost a second job

Yeah, just a fun creative one though in my opinion!

Looks like this one is picking up steem Ruben. Nice work and good way to help people focus on WHAT THEY SHOULD REALLY BE DOING ON STEEMIT.

Yeah, I was really surprised, but also really grateful. Thanks! Hopefully a lot of the newcomers read this one.

It was good material, and you caught the attention of @dantheman, who obviously agreed. I mentioned you in a few recent posts, so hopefully that helps too. Keep at it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51