“The worst loneliness is to not be comfortable with yourself.” ― Mark Twain

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Maybe it's the anxiety and lack of self-esteem but it really bothers me when my eldest sibling suddenly excels at things I do.

I was the one who was sewing on a machine paid through installments.

I was the one posing for pictures in cosplay at cons.

I was the one who had danced and do gymnastics.

I mean, I am happy for them and it always bothered me when they start shooting ahead of me.

They are the eldest one and had a 4 years age gap putting them in front of me at all times.

I am going through some changes in my identity and my biggest fear is that people would see it as me competing with them.

Imgur

Sort:  

You are enough.

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I know this feeling, although in my case it was my younger brother. I struggled to get through school, and almost dropped out during a really hard time in my life, and he left school, was home-schooled, and got his GED before I got my diploma. It definitely stems from lack of self-esteem in my case, but also from frustration that isn't really about him, but about how hard I had to work. Maybe a little bit of jealousy, too?

Anyway, I hope you can resolve things in a way that makes you happy. You are enough. <3

I hate admitting the jealousy, the envy.

Well, perhaps it will go away with time. I've had about 10 years to get past my jealousy, and I think my brother and I have a much better relationship now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63498.69
ETH 2645.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80