You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Generation "What-the-Heck-Happened?"

in #blog6 years ago

Great piece...
Initially I struggled between wanting them to experience my childhood and present interests.
I read many articles in regards, I watched many videos in regards
And finally I came to balance
I allow them their gadget time... it's what excited them the most
But I also implemented some rules for example, when we are at a social setting, no gadgets. No gadgets during meals. phones only to communicate during weekdays and that too monitored (loosely) because they do get caught up

But having said this, they surprise me with what they know. And they always have this smirk, when they tell they got it either off TV, or some anime or something. (Because when I get really angry with them I call these the "idiot box" turning them into zombies)

I guess parenting in any generation have their fair share of challenges, as vice and negatives are always the most attractive to humans. Kids can't discern and so it's managing your values against what your kids' interests whilst allowing them to be who they are with their best interests at heart.
😊

Sort:  

Thank you :)

You are the rare normal parent @kaerpediem - there's two things you wouldn't expect to go together in a sentence. You're right, parenting is hard in any generation, but over the years of seeing students pass through - I've seen such a steady decline pushing the norm into the outlier position, and the outliers into the norm. Especially at the university level. At the primary and kindy, they are so much better at their numbers and reading at a younger age - but absolutely rubbish when it comes to internal regulation, problem solving and social cognition.

From the role of an educator, either I'm going to all the wrong schools, or children in general are just very different these days.

Parents like you are such a treat and a rare gem. Compared to the masses however.....sigh

I'm hoping for better things with this new cabinet. So sad Tun can't be our education minister. Oh the kind of clean up that would happen..... I shall indulge in a little day dreaming. :)

Ok that is cause to be concerned. I can only hope I am doing right by them.
And yes, I too for a day there was excited with the possibilities of Tun as Education Minister
Still hoping 😊

Oh, I'm pretty sure you are. xx
Miracles do happen....LOL am reminded of Einstein's quote

There are only two ways to live your life. One is as though nothing is a miracle. The other is as though everything is a miracle. - Albert Einstein

I need to put this as a daily reminder on my phone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.95
ETH 2351.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47