Why Enduring for the Sake of Enduring is Stupid.

in #blog7 years ago

As a kid I learned that enduring unnecessary things allowed you to tell stories that others would listen to. Like having teeth pulled without novocaine, or breaking/dislocating fingers and never seeing a doctor.

These situations provided a way for me to connect with others in some normal way, even people I would normally have nothing in common with. Everyone loves a painful story… and most people will follow it up with their own stories of a similar brand.

That approach set bad habits for me. I became stubborn with getting proper treatment for my health. Coupled with the stigma against modern medicine that’s been growing, I stopped taking medicine for headaches, refused to take antibiotics when coming down with a sickness, and tried to ignore the severe (and sometimes debilitating) back pain I had for years.

I thought it was making me stronger.

But recently I’ve reframed my thinking. Is suffering good for me? No. Is enduring pain a valid way to connect with others and tell stories? Not really.

I thought, “What is in my best interest?” And really, the answer was simple: Make use of the luxuries of the 21st century. Ease my headache an hour after it begins instead of after two days of head-pounding. Beat my sickness before it beats me. Treat my back (through chiropractic) so I can live a mostly normal life.

Don’t make yourself suffer needlessly.

It accomplishes nothing. Put your focus on living a good life. Not on atonement, or forgiveness, or for favors… just on pursuing what you value. Endure pain or hardship when it is necessary, but only as a last resort, and only in the pursuit of your goals.

In the end, I summed it up into this one thought:

Enduring for the sake of enduring? That’s just stupid.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by justinchase from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Oh my, and the blind whip come swishing past. I was exactly like that. Put going to the doctor off until there was no other option. Thus lived a live in ignorance until it all came crashing down.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98