The red truck guy... named BECKY!

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

image
(not actual truck credit goes to pixabay)

So I have mentioned in an earlier blog about my wonderful neighbors that have been helping me out with shovelling my snow. In return I try to bake them cookies. These people have been my neighbors for quite a few years now. We have had a lot of snow lately so I have made two batches of cookies in the last week. The last batch I delivered I decided perhaps it was time to ask the guy (my neighbor who has been previously known as red truck guy) what his actual name was. I may have asked and received his name in previous years but have forgotten due to all sorts of excuses like I had a head injury, I have ptsd, I'm an asshole and just didn't listen, didn't care, or just plain ole forgot due to age or whatever. Anyways red truck guy was gonna get a name today! I like him and he needs a name! This is how it transpired.

So the morning after a big snowfall my neighbors red truck guy and his girlfriend came over and shoveled my driveway long before I woke up. I was unaware they had done this wonderful deed so I got up in the morning got dressed and went outside to shovel. Instead of shovelling i returned to the house to make peanut butter cookies for them to show them my appreciation.

That gave me my peanut butter cookie blog. What I left out in that blog is the devastation I have felt since that day.

The day I delivered the peanut butter cookies I thanked red truck guy for shovelling my driveway and told him to thank his girlfriend as well. Then "I said by the way what is your name." He looked me straight in the eyes and said "BECKY". I said "Becky"? I said "oh I don't think I ever knew that". "I will try to remember from now on". All the while in my head I'm thinking he doesn't look like a Becky. What kind of parents name there boy BECKY! Would that maybe be a nickname?

I came home devastated I was having a hard time accepting this information. I'm thinking red truck guy suits him way better. I had to share this information with someone so I texted my boyfriend and told him the story. He to could not picture him as a Becky and agreed I had done a better job naming him red truck guy. He thought well maybe he said Bucky. I was sure he said Becky.

A few days later after more snow Becky shoveled my driveway again. So again I made Becky cookies. (I will never forget his name.) I delivered the cookies and Becky was very happy. However it had snowed again since he had shoveled yesterday and he hadnt gotten to it today so he was apologetic. I told him not to worry I really appreciated the shovelling he had already done. (I have had some pretty major injuries from a bad car accident but I'm pretty stubborn so I attempt to do my own shovelling when I can. I pay for it later with quite a lot of pain so when the neighbor does it for me it is so appreciated but definitely not expected.)

After the cookies were delivered I got out my shovel and started on the new 4 to six inches of snow we had received over night and through out the day.

It just so happens I have perfect timing because now black truck guy pulls up to the neighbors house comes over and helps me shovel. I mistake black truck guy for red truck guy though. Oh the drama! I'm so confused! I say oh you didn't have to come help just because I brought cookies he says oh that was my brother you brought the cookies to. I look at him and I say are you guys twins? No but close he says. Argggh my mind is blown how many time have I thought I was talking to red truck guy and it was his brother???

(So now I see an opening To confirm Becky's name) I ask Becky's brother "what is your name"? Turns out his name is John. Now my big opportunity to clarify and confirm his brothers name has arrived! So what is your brothers name? "His name is Jason". (Hallelujah he definitely looks like a Jason!!!) So where did BECKY come from? One more question what is Jason's girlfriends name? "Becky". It now all makes sense. When I asked jason what is your name I think he thought i said what is her name because she had helped shovel that morning. Oh the confusion . It makes for a great blog though. So happy the universe has come together for me. I had already nicknamed him Beck If I were to talk to him again. But now they shall be none the wiser. Unless they ever see this blog then maybe they will get a giggle.

image

image

image

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66