You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The stupidity of society - The normalcy of alcohol

in #blog8 years ago

if you are looking for healthy relationships combined with alc. visit Germany. Not that I agree with the way things are ( i'd rather have legal marihuana) but I know many for whom drinking after work is as normal as breakfast and confronting them about the unhealthy impact on our bodies causes people to look at you like you are from Mars... so pretty integrated in our culture here

Sort:  

Haha, yes, that's my point: it's considered normal. But look at smoking. My parents tell me about birthdays where there used to be cigarettes lying on the table for everyone to take. Compare that to how it is now, where smokers are forced to take their habbit outside, because it is bad for people.

I wonder if this will ever happen for alcohol, though, because the damage it does to our bodies is contained to the body that does the actual drinking (accidents excluded). But if you look at the fights rising up against sugar, fat and salt, I wouldn't be surprised if alcohol would one day be considered less normal or acceptable. It would be a long road, though, as it is very much integrated into many of our cultures.

I assume we have to thank the internet spread knowledge for all those fights. Change is inevitable and will come in effect faster than during the ages before electricity, yay :)

True, I think you're right about that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60704.11
ETH 2452.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62