Look What the Cat Dragged In

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

About 4 months ago we lucked out. We had been looking for a fluffy cat for our daughter. We loved the idea of a Maine Coon, but hated the price. For one thing, our cats have always been indoor/outdoor at will. Please don't scream at me, I can't bear the look on my cats' faces when they aren't able to go outside. Yes, we've lost cats to cars and once to a wild animal attack out in Boise, but during the years our cats have lived, we feel like they've really lived.


Like this, but with less booze and more bird-stalking

Anyway, I couldn't see spending two grand on a cat at all, let alone one that we would let out the door. Like, if I'm spending two grand on something it better come with an engine and four good tires. So we started looking on Craigslist and in the local papers for kittens, but let me tell you - at least around here, the spay and neuter crowd seems to have done their job. Twenty years ago you had to run out of Walmart lest someone chuck a free kitten into your basket on the way to your car. Now, kittens even with a 'rehoming fee' were few and far between. A litter would be posted and an hour later they were gone.


Along with my daughter's hopes and dreams - Thanks spay/neuter crowd

At one time we got our hopes up when someone advertised a litter of partial Maine Coons on the way. We contacted them and they assured us the parents were long haired, and we'd get pick of the litter, but then they disappeared so I assume they were full of shit and realized it would be obvious that the cats weren't long haired when we showed up. Some people tell the most stupid lies, but I counted my blessings since it was Craigslist so the scam could have conceivably been far worse.


Craigslist psychos rarely come with Balesque good looks and they never dance

But our fortunes turned when someone bought a whole litter of mistreated kittens that appeared to be (and our vet later confirmed were) Maine Coons! We paid a $100 rehoming fee and it was money well spent. Kit Kat lives up to the Main Coon rep in every way. She is incredibly playful and dextrous, using her paws like mittened hands to grab you and pull you in for a snuggle. She runs outside with the dogs although she has a cat door, then comes in with them when they're called and sits waiting for a treat. Our poor dogs don't know what to do with her as she jumps and rolls around in front of them, trying desperately to play, while they freeze with horror, certain she is about to attack.

IMG_3434.JPG
Who? Me? Never!

Their fear is well founded, for she definitely lives up to the hunter rep. In just one morning I woke up to three dead moles in the house. She does lines of mice like cocaine and last week killed an enormous chipmunk. This she left outside (thank god) which my husband believes is evidence that she only killed it to bait a hawk within reach. Whether she will then kill the hawk, or tame and ride it to terrorize even larger prey is up for debate.

So when I found her in the kitchen tonight, sitting calmly with a completely unharmed baby rabbit, I was confused. Is she going to mentor it? Has she kidnapped it in some psychotic reaction to being spayed like those ladies who steal other ladies' babies? Or has she decided a quick kill is boring and she wants the added spice of a Hannibal Lecter style courtship before the inevitable bloodbath?

I don't know, but I got her the hell out of the kitchen and nudged baby bun-bun into a box. The cat door is locked and I'll take said bun out to the wood pile from whence she came in a bit when she's calmed down some. In the meantime, here's a pic of Kit Kat's most recent "prey."

IMG_6058.JPG

Sort:  

i like your posts, thanks for sharing

If the internet has taught me anything, it is to make sure that if your cat decides to ride a hawk GET IT ON VIDEO. I just know there is a Disney movie in there somewhere!

Yay that you found the breed of kitty that you wanted! I am one of those people that has pets vicariously through other people, so this totally cracked me up!

There are days (like three-mole days) that I wish I'd thought of keeping my pet-love vicarious lol!

Haha! I totally get it! You'll reap benefits from it though, I'm sure. Like hilarious posts, for example. 😊

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by jrhughes from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Awww, your cat's bloodlust is adorable.

Another great article, at home roams 2 donkeys, 6 dogs of which two are bassets and a duck. Boy do they get up to mischief

Wow, sounds like you have your hands full! Our full array includes 2 cats, 2 dogs, 1 corn snake, 1 diamond dove, and 1 immortal Betta fish.

I initially highlighted this:

"Like, if I'm spending two grand on something it better come with an engine and four good tires."

Because I was cracking up, but I soon realized the rest of the post was just as good! I didn't stop giggling the whole way through. You are a great storyteller and your cat sounds like quite the character. ;)

SO glad she didn't actually kill that adorable bunny. Not that all those other critters deserved it, but I'm biased... bunnies are my favorite animal. ❤️ The fact that you called it a bun-bun (I've never heard that before) pretty much makes you my favorite person on Steemit right now.

Thank you so much! It's great to entertain and even better to have the feedback that it worked, lol! I was really glad she didn't kill it too. All the kids were texting asking to keep it but I let it go of course.

I feel bad any time she kills anything but yeah, the bunny would have been the worst. Thanks again for stopping by and your incredibly kind, encouraging comment!

Congratulations @jrhughes! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77