A Single Dream Mired By Constant Trepidation

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

If I could do anything for a living I would be a voice actor. For as long as I can remember I've been doing impersonations and altering my voice to do characters in a variety of styles and accents. I feel I've gotten quite good at it, but as confident as I am in my skills I lack any confidence in my ability to sell those skills. It's also quite difficult to find an agency that caters to voice work.

It's not entirely a lack of effort either. I moved half way across Canada to get to Toronto, a city I thought I might have a chance to pursue this one dream of mine. But once I got there, finding myself without a job and eating through my saving fast, I couldn't bring myself to actually contact an agent or look for auditions. I grew more withdrawn closing myself from the world and retreating to easily accessible options, such as my YouTube channel. I had hoped to refine some skills through that channel, particularly in the realm of improv and just speaking more, but I never took a step beyond what I could manage on my own.

I moved back to my hometown of Kelowna in 2015. I went through a few jobs, occasionally kept up with my creative hobbies (writing and video creation) while trying to pay off my debt. Early in 2017, while giving another go at YouTube gaming, I managed to land a VA role for an indie game called Neofeud. Available now on Steam if you want to check it out. It's got a distinct left-wing spin, but if that's not a problem it's a pretty well crafted game.

So now I have a bit of experience. I'm once again unemployed and looking for work, but still can't seem to motivate myself to do what I want. I tend to blame that on my debt and the fear of insecurity when I need to pay things off, but looking back I've always had this problem regardless of my financial situation. I've tried a few recommendations on self-motivation but they haven't gotten me anywhere.

I guess to some extent this is all due to not wanting it enough. I call this a dream, but it's more something I enjoy doing that I think I'm relatively good at. I look at others who have a fire in their eyes for whatever drives them in life. It's a quality I've always admired but never had. To some degree it's an advantage; I don't hold onto any ideal world so I can adapt and change very easily. When the world around me is in chaos I can make sense of it, but when things are consistent I find myself without direction. I've come to recognize this as a part of who I am, but still I long for the long term motivation that escapes me.

We all want what we can't have though, don't we?

Image Source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63131.59
ETH 2586.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78