Writing Minimal Viable Stories

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

So, after discovering the work of Eric Ries and LEAN I am going to try an approach I call Minimal Viable Story—I think I made that up but it wouldn't surprise me if someone else already did too.

The idea is simple. I will crank out fiction ideas, stories and characters fast in order to get positive or negative feedback.

My first example is this carnal supernatural romance story Lucifer (NSFW, unlike this post which is about my work more generally):

https://steemit.com/story/@jjay/lucifer

In a way, my first safe(r)-for-work post 'Lionfish' was the visual art version of my MVS too -- just a something to try out the platform. And the bit of positive response has encouraged me to get a little more active with this.

https://steemit.com/story/@jjay/lionfish

If you want more of that sort be sure to let me know with your comments and up votes. Same idea if it's not your cup-o-tea or you think it's something but would "thrill you more if..."

Now to be honest I'm not always going to cater to every piece of feedback. I can only write what I enjoy, and I always will even if that doesn't get a single upvote.

But I will treasure each piece of feedback and try to learn something from it.


Hey the icon for my blog posts was meant to be derived from a great shot by averie woodard on Unsplashed -- but I messed up in editing and made this instead.

Sort:  

Have you had a look at JTBD already?

No I hadn't. Please tell me more =)

It's a framework, much like the customer development portion of the lean stack. It states that customers want progress and imagine a better version of themselves with the help of your product. The following graphic describes this pretty well:

The way to use find out what your customers dream of a better life is to do extensive customer development and have a dialog with them. It can be fairly informal. What you're trying to get to the bottom of is what progress looks like for them and what they consider to be competition for your product.

Why asking about the competition? Well that helps you in knowing what they might have to stop doing/using to be able to start using your service/product. This gives you also the knowledge about what customers value in a solution and what they don't like. It also gives you an idea of the price they are willing to pay.

There's a lot more to it, so I'd like to close with a book recommendation: http://www.whencoffeeandkalecompete.com/

I hope I could shed some light on JTBD :)

Thank you for the very informative answer.

Cool info. I hadn't heard of this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62952.72
ETH 2429.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56