Walking BACK into DREAM LAND

in #blog6 years ago

“Dreams are the royal road to the unconscious.” ― Sigmund Freud

WALKING BACK INTO DREAM LAND

......

As a teen, I got quite actively involved in the practice of dream analysis. Dreams and the study of such have always fascinated me. I have a GREAT passion for symbolism and dreams are precisely that!

According to my parents, we have had quite a few very skilled psychics in our family… from both sides of the tree and my mom once told me about a great Aunt of mine, who was apparently an exceptionally gifted psychic.

One of the methods for “fine tuning” the skill which she imparted on to my mother, was that one of the most effective ways to keenly develop your natural psychic ability was through the analysing of your dreams… naturally, this excited me greatly and I started doing it with immediate effect.

At that age, (approx. 16) – I used to have incredibly vivid dreams and they were quite disturbing too - Often involving quite demonic types of creatures and very intense story lines. I was generally under some kind of attack and was always playing “warrior” in some way, shape or form… so the uncovering of the symbolism behind these types of dreams was of great interest to me.

“The dream is the liberation of the spirit from the pressure of external nature, a detachment of the soul from the fetters of matter.” ― Sigmund Freud

I never kept a dream journal, but I did keep a notebook and pen on my bedside table at all times, so that when I was woken by a dream, I could write down key points straight away, even if they were done in a half sleep state… because more often than not, no matter how many times, you tell yourself you will remember your dreams in the morning, you mostly don’t remember everything and much of the detail is lost.

Through the practice of jotting down key points, I was able to start replaying my dreams in my mind whilst I would get ready for college in the mornings. Eventually, it became pure habit and I found that as the months turned into years, I was able to remember the finest details of my dreams including many of the sensory details too such as smell, touch etc.

And this practice DEFINITELY began to enhance my natural psychic abilities. It began with small changes, like more and more frequently, I would be aware of things a few minutes before they happened… like a little whisper in my ear or a pop of visual in my mind…. And then it went on to much larger things, like being able to “see through to the core of people” (a story for another day lol)

20180203_144627.jpg

20180203_144616.jpg

As you can see from my bookshelf, dream analysis was not the only topic I was drawn to as a young woman…. Haha! And that potjiekos book stuck in the middle is actually shape shifting cauldron recipes, not South African braai recipes hey... hahhahaha!!!!

I have had most of these books since I was 16… some bought, but most stolen from libraries… hahaha (yes, I was THAT person! Lol)…Although I eventually headed out to go and BUY a dream analysis book (you know… we didn’t have interwebs back then… GAWD I am old! Haha) and because paganism was one of my many topics of interest at the time, when I spotted this particular book, I was SOLD! I think it was the addition of “lady” to the author’s name that created that immediate sense of respect within me… and so I bought it. Yay! No theft! Lol

20180203_144744.jpg

Unfortunately, one of my most "prized possessions" in terms of books - "A Grimoire of Shadows - By Ed Fitch" - along with a few of my other favourites, "mysteriously" disappeared off my bookshelf at the time lol... EVEN though I had gone through the trouble of actually COVERING the above mentioned one... lol

(I found out in my early 30's that my mom was responsible for the mysterious disappearances hehehe)...

However, I have held VERY tightly on to this book ever since, because not only did it teach me an enormous amount about dream interpretation, but the more I referred to it, the more I discovered how uncannily accurate the interpretations were for the relative symbolism's within my dreams and it became VERY easy to string together the meanings behind my dreams story lines…

Eventually, I no longer used the book for reference, I had a clear understanding of most symbolisms, except perhaps a few, and as the years went on, I was also able to start identifying my own symbolisms which were applicable “specifically to me”.

Why am I sharing this with all of you?

Well… for MANY years, since entering adulthood, I stopped remembering my dreams completely. And I say “stopped remembering” because we ALL dream… EVERY NIGHT… we just don’t all remember them… and for a very long time, mine appeared to be gone completely - Until a few days ago…

I have started to have the most vivid dreams once again, and I am SO excited! I did not prompt this, or “will it” – it has simply begun to happen again, and I think that speaks VOLUMES for the shift in my emotional and mental state of mind, since having removed a grotesque amount of stress out of my life.

I am just SO EXCITED!!!
and I really wanted to share that with all of you :)

EEEEEEEEK!!!!!


Image Credit

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png


APP.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Header Image Credit

Sort:  

Thanks for this valuable post sharing..... i appreciate this life. and also good this writing..... all the best dear.....

Thats a great writing sis..Keep it up..
Steemited...✌✌✌✌

If you want to, check out this Saint From Mexico. She is pretty cool gal (but get to know her first)

Great dear @jaynie Resteemed

There is no big dream for a huge dreamer. Good post, greetings!

dream I do not know much about it. but I think it's my 6th feeling ;)

continue to dream, because life begins with a dream

Wow... Really wow, I knew you had such great writing skills but now am seeing where they came from Lolz. Quite a library you have here @jaynie... Dream is a very interesting topic as I would imagine and are you a psychic?

I have a lot of things to ask you but I know you can't answer all... Will you teach your son too? As your grandmother passed it to your mother and your mother to you... And finally Lolz what's your take on hypnosis? @dee-y over and out.

This post has received gratitude of 16.84 % from @appreciator thanks to: @jaynie.

Great post! very interesting, keep dreaming. Upvote for you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66785.43
ETH 3494.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83