# The POWER of PETRICHOR

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

She was like pluviophile and I came as petrichor in her life.

The POWER of PETRICHOR

The earthy scent produced when rain falls on dry soil.

......

I don’t know about what anyone else thinks or feels, but for me, the smell of the wet earth after a much needed rain is something that holds an almost spiritual quality. It is a sensory experience that literally transports me onto a completely different ”level”

As many of you will know, we have a severe drought here in Cape Town, South Africa and last night out of nowhere almost, we had the most magnificent thunderstorm – and damn did we need it… It certainly wasn’t enough rain, but it sure did come down... and all the gardens throughout the Western Cape breathed a huge sigh of relief I am certain!


Before I even continue, I would just like to state that ALL the photos shared in this post
are from the storm in the Mother City AKA Cape Town last night, and are all compliments
of a VERY CLEARLY talented photographer Bryn De Kocks


As I explained in my ”Impromptu Podcast”… I am human;
I have good days and bad ones.
Yesterday was not a very good one and in an almost symbolic manner,
the tears began to stream down my face
as fast as the much needed rain hit the concrete outside.


Image Credit

The rain eventually abated, I went to go sit outside and absorb the cleansed and renewed energy of my surroundings. Despite how utterly emotionally depleted and defeated I was feeling, a few simple minutes of being in the majesty of nature and the results of her - just passed ”outburst really did wonders for my soul. I felt an enormous comfort in that moment… a “sigh” of relief if you will – as if I was able to once again, simply let it all go… think from a crisper perspective and stand up, yet again.

Sometimes, life happens and we have to ride that rollercoaster. Feeling misunderstood and discarded has probably always been one of my greatest ”fears” and last night, it pulled me down to GROUND ZERO! I have spent so many years re-learning the fact that I am actually a worthy and deserving soul and it is never an easy thing when you slip and fall…

But, having said that… I have always managed to get back up again – and I seem to be able to do it a lot quicker these days than previously… so that in itself is a very good sign… well it is to me anyway, and I will most CERTAINLY acknowledge my unending GRATITUDE for JUST that!


Image Credit

Until next time...

Much Love from Cape Town, South Africa xxx

Steemit logo Jaynielea.png

Appreciator Footer.png

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Header Image Credit

All photos of the Cape Town Storm shared in this post are
credited to the photographer Bryn De Kocks

Sort:  

Thanks to @chiefmappster, this post was resteemed and highlighted in today's edition of The Daily Sneak.

Thank you for your efforts to create quality content!

Thank you SO much @chiefmappster and @sneakyninja - What an absolute honour! Much love to the both of you!

Good post.. grateful working..... like this post

I just hope the conditions their improve and yes, there is nothing more beautiful and soothing than the fine smell of petrichor. it is an amazing word itself and i would like to share its etymology with you. the part petri or petro stands for the earthly components and the term ichor, according to the greek mythology states the 'blood in the veins of gods'.
I hope the conditions their improve and things go as wonderful as they were.

This post is motivational.in this post you have written many motives sentence around an event in south africa.
Keep it up

upvote and resteemit done dear....
keep it on....

very nice piece....tnks for sharing,very informative....

Excellent your photograph. I alwys see your post..

It doesn't matter how many times you fall,
It matters if you get up.


Thanks for sharing! The energy inside you is growing and flowing bringing you joy, happiness and loving! Peace @jaynie

Good postings in our lives must fall or fall and we must rise again. Rising means waking up after a fall, for example you lose, you have to keep selling for profit. If you get a bad score, you have to keep the spirit of learning to be able to get good on another opportunity. If you fail to build a business, then you have to do a lot effort and prayer for you to succeed in building a business that has become your dream.It does provide the regularity of an easy job, we must fight ourselves. In times of fall we often blame the situation, blame yourself and not much but lament the mistakes that have been done. We are advised to be held what has been done, regrets will not make you better. So you should think how to solve the problem that is befall you. You should find a solution to what you have active.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64916.21
ETH 3483.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45