You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lessons learned from my WordPress and Steempress setup

in #blog6 years ago

Awesome write up... I did the exact same thing when I setup steempress. Did it all in markdown. Something else I ran into... Not sure if it's an issue but I saved a draft, with the publish to steem button deselected, then finished up and selected publish to steem and it didn't publish.. just something to watch for. I actually ported my whole site over to WordPress (from another CMS) because of the Steempress plugin. WordPress is a great CMS to use for a personal blog and I've used several different systems.

Sort:  

Wow, I have not seen that issue. I hope it was a one-time fluke, @jasonbu! That’s amazing that you ported your whole site over to WordPress.

I can’t believe I didn’t mention your WordPress site in my list of example sites! Especially since you helped me with mine! Well, I do need to write another post either comparing features of different sites or simply showcasing several different ones. I’m really having fun with this. (New post to be published momentarily.)

Question for you: Do you think there is any fundamental difference between a “site” and a “blog” in these instances? I realize I’m using the terms interchangeably, which could be confusing. For me they are one and the same. I wanted a website to collect and showcase my work, not just a blog. Hmm....

Hey @jayna, no worries. In my mind a "site" has more that one area, like products, articles, or potentially more than one author and is a bit more formal. A "blog", to me, is singularly focused or written by one author and is less formal, something more personal like an online log. Remember, blog was coined from shortening of the term "weblog" to "blog." - In reality, I do use them interchangeably... just depends on context and my audience at the time.

Okay good. Thanks! I’m not crazy, then, in thinking that the dividing line is fuzzy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60371.26
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54