Royal Canadian Mint - 1/2 oz. Ten Dollar Maple Leaves

in #blog6 years ago

1:2 oz Silver Maple Booklet Open Outside 1.jpg

I saw some posts recently of some silver and one guy posted a video about copper. I realized I haven't included any of my silver in my blog. Initially I planned on buying silver as an investment. I guess I kind of still am but not in the smartest way to get returns. My investing turned more into collecting. I started buying coins from the Royal Canadian Mint.

1:2 oz Silver Maple Booklet Open Inside.jpg

I'm sure there are some serious silver investors cringing right now. I realize RCM coins aren't likely to be worth more than I paid for them in my lifetime. I started out buying some coins that cost the same as their face value. Hundred dollar coins that cost a hundred dollars, fifty dollar coins that cost fifty dollars and so on. They were silver coins as well. My way of thinking was that even if silver never went up enough to make a profit on the silver price that it would always at least be worth the face value. The other thing is they look really cool. They're so perfect. I love the way silver looks.

1:2 oz Silver Maple Booklet Open Inside Left.jpg
1:2 oz Silver Maple Booklet Open Inside Right.jpg

I was hooked. I started buying subscriptions of colored coins. I was buying silver commemorative collections of old coin designs. It really just turned into collecting cool silver coins. I tried to pick ones that had some meaning to me and limit my purchases but honestly those first couple years I went a little crazy. I still am making some purchases but they aren't very frequent and I try to keep them in my budget. I don't have as much money to spend being on disability right now.

1:2 oz Silver Maple Booklet Closed Back.jpg

After buying a bunch of silver from the mint. I started looking around and realized the coins don't really go up in price. The pawn shops are selling them for under half price. I decided to buy some silver bullion to make a bit better investment. The silver coins were cool to hold and still were pretty nice but I still end up seeing coins that I have to buy at the mint.

1:2 oz Silver Maple Tails.jpg

This coin was one of my recent purchases. It wasn't overly expensive (as far as the mint goes anyway). It cost me $34.95 for a ten dollar coin made out of a 1/2 oz of silver. The maple coins are one of the types of coins that I tend to buy. The mint puts out too many coins in a year to buy every one of the ones that has a maple theme. I do live in Canada after all.

1:2 oz Silver Maple Heads 2.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94