Welcome, to my Public, Private Musings

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I'm always running into things full speed, too excited to look down the road while convincing myself that I am. Great first post right?; starting off by saying I don't finish thin-

Just kidding, but I wanted to give you some insight as to what I am typing about. I grew up playing seventeen instruments. Seventeen. What does that tell you? Not that I am musically inclined, I hope, because I wasn't using that as a bragging right. Even though I do; let's keep it real. What it was, was no one in my childhood picking up on how frustrated I was learning note reading as a functioning dyslexic. (And all dyslexics as far as the ones I've met are functioning, but we can get into the technicalities of dyslexia another day.)

The sense I am trying to impress upon you, dear reader, is that I like to jump around a lot. One day I am attempting to learn guitar (I sucked, hard, for six years) and the next I am back to my childhood dream of singing. So music, for the large part, was something I stuck with. Voice resided as my pride and glory, with saxophone coming in second as a long time favorite and cello as a merciless third-favorite endeavor.

Finding journalism after it crash landed into my lap one fine California, summer day in an Apple Hill orchard was terrifying. Here, I had discovered the one thing I love as much as singing - probably more; communication. In the midst's of an off-season from my retired, opera instructor's enchanting fairy-tale cottage I was searching for an activity to pour my passion into, and I found one. Agreeing to a one-time shoot of hosting an art event and interviewing our staged couple, who went wine tasting as well as any vendor I could wrangle onto the camera, I took my first step into my career as a journalist.

"So what?" you're probably thinking to yourself right now, "Why start a blog if you are going to pursue a career on camera?" And you are not wrong in wondering that, I am wondering that myself right now. How is it, always having defined progress in the past as numerical value represented in grades or my bank account, that I feel more accomplished writing a blog post that maybe five of my closest family and friends will read instead of applying too the endless jobs I could get doing entry level work at a broadcasting station? Because those things are not why I started a career in communications.

When I was younger and hadn't been bogged down by people in middle school telling me my singing was annoying and too high pitched, I dreamed of connecting with an audience. I dreamed of vast, universal and raw emotion that would connect me with thousands of other people, in that moment, in that memory, for our existences. I dreamed of this so much so, that when I started to imagine my audience getting ready for this display, I slowly started to only imagine the emotion and connection between the audience and myself. It took some time to realize singing and music, though passionate and however indescribable it can make one feel, were not why I wanted to be on a stage.

No. In the end, one day, I snapped right out of my day dream and stood straight up, taking a couple long strides across my childhood room to the large, framed, mirror perched against my door. I looked myself up and down very slowly, then, settling my gaze to directly receive itself I said aloud, “You love people".

And there you have it as I did. Plain, blunt longing for humanity. This is what drives me, prompts me to take up random conversation with strangers and exchange the most in-ordinary of information with the most unfamiliar of crowds.

What is society but a bunch of random people, doing things to keep themselves entertained, keep themselves advancing? Would it not be so much more beneficial for everyone involved if we took some time, used our combined knowledge and spread the love around a bit more? I fear my musings have taken to the tone of rambling, but what better way to capture the gist of what I intend to convey! My happy, wandering, wondering, public musings for the delight and intrigue of whoever happen by.

With Camaraderic Love and Warm Thoughts,

Jasmyn

Originally Posted: Dec. 14, 2016

Sort:  

@STEEMHumor!!


logo
@jasmynflowers, You have been selected Randomly. Judged Funny enough to be featured on @STEEMHumor. Lucky You!
Submit Funny Posts to @STEEMHumor Submit Funny Posts LOL (wait 1 hour after following @STEEMHumor to submit posts)
If your reputation is less than 30 it is only takes 0.001 SBD or STEEM sent to @STEEMHumor with the Steemit post link In the Memo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66109.31
ETH 3290.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71