Blessed St. Xenia of Petersburg Cathedral

in #blog6 years ago

As originally posted on my non-Steemit blog last year, I snapped these pictures of Blessed St. Xenia of Petersburg Cathedral (Russian Orthodox Church Abroad) in Kanata, Ontario while waiting for the bus. This is definitely an old-school Russian church, as it has no pews in the sanctuary (though there are benches along the back wall for those who need to sit), and services are mostly in Slavonic.

Construction began in 1996, with the inaugural service being held in February 1997.

stx1.JPG

stx2.JPG

stx3.JPG

stx4.JPG

Sort:  

I don't know much about the Russian Orthodox Church but their Churches are beautiful.

Indeed! There is a distinctive aesthetic side to Orthodoxy (architecture, icons, music) that had me entranced even when I was still a practising Protestant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63615.94
ETH 2475.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54