(IJCH) Well, this is VERY AWKWARD - again: The Internet Doesn't Know You're a Dog. Ditto for Icons...

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) Well, this is VERY AWKWARD - again: The Internet Doesn't Know You're a Dog. Ditto for Icons...

Internet_dog-768x859.jpg

From the Author

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

downkj.png

Anonymity Online

"On the Internet, nobody knows you're a dog" is an adage about Internet anonymity which began as a cartoon caption by Peter Steiner and published by The New Yorker on July 5, 1993..."

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/On_the_Internet,_nobody_knows_you%27re_a_dog

These days, it's so easy to hide behind your computer screen.

Generations of introverts and agoraphobics have reveled in their new found popularity; while safely "reinventing themselves" or taking pock-shots at those who disagreed with their personal opinions.

imagebx.jpg

Global heroes have been made in less than 24 hours, legends in less than a week.

Just look at the history of 4Chan and the group "Anonymous" and you get the picture.

imabvcx.jpg

Me Love You Long Time, No Sh*t...

Something happened to me yesterday that reminded me that, deep down inside, I can be a pure sucker.

While commenting on another Steemian's post, I glanced at the whole comment thread.

My eyes fixated on an icon with a most attractive image.

Dude! Seriously, it was an immediate candidate for the spank bank!

I don't know exactly what I was thinking at the time - maybe my girlfriend had cut me off from the boom-boom, or maybe I was still feeling the effects of the last party, but I replied to the commentor with the sexy icon with this:

@so-and-so,

For all I know, you could be a man.

Nevertheless, I upvoted you just because of your icon...

Call me childish...because I am.

But I must confess, the fantasies were rolling in.

Hope you got a chuckle from this.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Here was the reply:

when i say that im girl??

'DOH!

unnamed (14).gif

Then I had to backtrack ASAP with:

The image used for your icon.

No offense intended, dude.

Just nonsensical humor.

JaiChai

Imagine that?

unnamed (13).gif

Many thanks for reading my post. And if you enjoyed it, please: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

- JaiChai "My mind was a terrible thing to waste..."

2017-05-03_12.15.34-465x551.jpg

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic. In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Parting Shot -

images (48).jpg

Sort:  

Thanks, my friend.

Hope you are doing well and loving life.

Namaste,

JaiChai

@minnowpondred has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63618.84
ETH 2623.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78