(IJCH) The Greatest Acts of Courage (Prompted by a Beautiful Post from @fred703)

in #blog6 years ago

imaw.jpg

(IJCH) The Greatest Acts of Courage (Prompted by a Beautiful Post from @fred703)

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (meaning: My warped, personal opinions and musings.)

From the Author

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure to make your acquaintance, it's always nice to meet a fellow Steemian.

imfred.jpg

I read this beautiful post from @fred703:

https://steemit.com/teamsouthafrica/@fred703/courage

It inspired me to post this comment to @fred703:

@fred703,

Excellent post. It was saturated with sincerity. And I enjoyed it immensely.

Salutations. I am JaiChai. Very pleased to make your acquaintance.

Your heartfelt post prompted me to submit this to you:

DQmYUBMK9P8C57GiViojNSAPPLetJ2napJdwf2HgbGRQcov.jpg

Many people idolized the kind of servicemen that were in "those special little units filled with crazy f*cks". I was one of those loonies serving in those kind of units.

To other, "normal" military personnel, it seemed like all we did was to spend our workdays doing wildly fun and extremely hazardous training day in and day out, just to cheat death on every op.

Consequently, everyone assumed that we possessed superhuman abilities and bulletproof confidence, god-like courage, etc., etc., etc.

DQmbXEuGAtVWmrzLyKnhe4tqds1q6fYZYFX2GzCA461Ttm3_1680x8400.jpg

They would watch with envy as we spent our time on duty just "playing" - jumping out of airplanes, scuba diving, staying familiar with our weapons and equipment, and making things go boom.

DQmQzwdXuVTe24wUHrW5TC12xCb9fc1L9GZk5h5w7t1HZEt.jpg

The real truth is not so glamorous, nor exciting.

In order to maintain any kind of proficiency to survive real world ops required untold sacrifices - time away from loved ones, training to the point of exhaustion or injury, enduring miserable working environments, witnessing heartbreaking events around the world and watching buddies die; or if broken past the point of rehabilitation, observe helplessly as they physically and mentally waste away.

I became another statistic; another multiple-marriages-multiple-divorces soldier. Twenty-four years past quickly and soon I was just another obsolete, government-paid psychopath.

imatr.jpg

Naturally, my first two children are complete strangers to me. That's why I'm so grateful to be a real Dad now that I'm retired.

If you forget anything I've written up to now, I truly hope you remember this:

imagecf.jpg

There are many kinds of courage.

The most important ones are not portrayed in action movies or always mentioned in global magazines and newspapers.

And I'm here to say that, although I've been offered quite a few invitations to "see the other side", the scariest thing I've ever faced was the thought of anything bad happening to my daughter.

Just below that fear factor level is a 30-year mortgage and college tuition! Lol!

imagft.jpg

So let me throw some sincerity back at you now.

The Greatest Acts of Courage are the unrewarded, invisible and silent acts of love performed selflessly everyday by all responsible fathers and mothers.

"It's the genuine, caring and responsible people like you that are my idols, Sir."

"I am no longer required by military protocol to render a salute to others simply because they possessed a higher rank. But if our paths ever cross, I would willingly salute you, my friend. This one's for you..."

DQmNMHMFA5EXAEC2yDKZrFVuApaoyKt4AbmKb8dqTpKHkrG.jpg

Namaste (I recognize the divine in you, my friend),

JaiChai

(End of Comment to @fred703's Post)

Many thanks for reading my post. And if you enjoyed it, please: Upvote, Follow, Comment and Resteem.

- JaiChai "My mind was a terrible thing to waste..."

12189470_985642504827543_5823710680545405832_o.jpg

About the Author

He is a retired U.S. Military veteran. Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic. In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he freefall parachuted out of airplanes and performed diving ops in very deep, open ocean water.

He spends his days on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

Parting Shot -

imaqq.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! If I could give you 3 times the amount that I have in my wallets worth as an upvote, you would have had it. I am speechless.

@awgbibb,

Thank you very much for commenting and the benevolent generosity.

I know you probably don't need my puny upvote and follow, but it's the thought that counts, no?

Namaste,

JaiChai

You're welcome, we all start at the same place!

@awgbibb,

Wow.

Although I'm still very new to the Steemit platform, it's Steemians like you that's making it a blast for me!

Thanks again.

Namaste,

JaiChai

I want to say something but don’t really know what to say so I guess I’ll just say, good post. There’s so much in this short little post...

@jewels3,

Makes me happy that you read and commented.

Thanks, amiga.

Namaste,

JaiChai

I’m looking forward to getting more familiar with things around here so I can follow my favorite authors a little better. 😊 This newbie phase... I just started fine tuning who I follow. I’ve got three favorites so far and am rarely able to catch stuff in my feed from you and the other two.

@jewels3,

Echo your plight.

Still feel like the FNG (f*ckin' new guy). But I have confidence in both of us, amiga...

Namaste,

JaiChai

So you are the type of fellow that I read about when I was a kid! I have not spoken to too many fellows like you. I understand your sentiments but you have got it alright. Quite remarkable

@fred703,

Time is our only real wealth - and even that's temporary, no?

That's why I really appreciate you taking the time to comment (and of course, the upvote).

Thanks much.

Namaste,

JaiChai

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62025.59
ETH 3074.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84