Clutch Swap . . . Swap?

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

So, it turns out Dodge Neons have two different clutch systems. One is the standard clutch kit where you replace the parts, and one is a "modular clutch" that comes as a non-serviceable module that is replaced as a complete unit. The former allows more customization, like lightweight racing flywheels. The latter is easier to swap out.

I bought the wrong kit and was tearing my hair out trying to figure out how it was supposed to work. I finally figured out what was wrong, swapped the parts at O'Reilly, and can soon make more progress. This is what the wrong kit for my car looks like, and here's the right one. For whatever reason, the images don't seem to be properly displaying in this post.

Had my two Neons been made in Mexico, the top image would have been the right part. But they weren't, and it wasn't. So yay, I drive a proper 'Murkan car, and it is actually easier to fix now that I have the proper component? Whatever. I am exhausted. Maybe I'll write something coherent tomorrow. Don't count on it though.

Sort:  

Wait a minute! You mean you are trying to write coherent most of the time?

Heh. Just think, you get to spend the entire afternoon and part of the evening in my presence, after that I'm sure you'll be pining for your Neon project of never-endingness!

Murika!

Glad it finally worked out. Persistence can be rewarding And exhausting at the same time.

Now that I have some idea what I am doing, I hope part 2 of the swap and part shuffle is easier.

hahahaha...funny though...upped

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68255.87
ETH 3271.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68