My very own personal story and how yoga helped me.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Hello, dear friends,

Today I would like to share with you my story. And hopefully, if someone, who is in difficulty, has the chance to read my story, will see the light at the end of the tunnel.

So for good or bad, I’ve been struggling with an eating and obsessive compulsive disorder since I was 15 years old. This disease determined my life, the way I think and behave. I really wouldn’t like to go into the details about what I’ve been through all these years. It is still painful for me to speak up for all the hard moments I’ve passed, but at the same time, if not the disease, I would be much more superficial and unconscious person now. In order to understand myself and my behavior, I had to search for answers and to go deep within my inner self.

To a certain extent, I’ve managed to live a normal life and to cope with the obsessive thoughts but what I’ve realized is that it is part of me and I will have to carry this shadow with me till the end of my life. Your mind will never function as it used to. And unfortunately, there are plenty of side effects, for instance, chronic stress, fatigue, depression, lack of focus, difficulties to concentrate, distraction, damaged digestive system and much more.

So even I’ve managed to cope with my disease and to get the know the deepest angles of myself and how to deal with my own personality, I had to find a way to overcome the physical side effects as well. 4 months ago I visited a holistic physician, who informed me that I have so many toxins in my body, that can progress into cancer cells. I was told to stop any diaries, meat (except fish or beef once per week) and most of all no sugar, no coffee, no alcohol. I started to drink supplements like chlorella, rose oil, linseed oil, hemp seeds, tahini.

It’s been 4 months now since I don’t eat any diaries, any white sugar, white flour and consume meat, coffee or alcohol on very rare occasions. And the truth is that cleaning my body from the inside helped in many aspects. At first, I was very mistrustful of this physician, but it seems like it’s not a coincidence that she has no free appointment hours for the next six months.

During this period, I somehow started to do a daily yoga practice. I started to do yoga almost every day, sometimes 2 or 3 times per day. And I can really see the positive effects of doing yoga or find peace within myself and be humble. I’ve always been practicing some sport and it keeps you energized, fresh, happy and motivated. But yoga is not an exercise, yoga is a conscious effort to train the mind to be fully present by controlling the body, breathe and mind in one harmonious moment. And the main role of the positive effect of yoga comes from the right breathing.

yoga-retreats-thailand.jpg

There is much more to yoga than bending, folding and twisting your body. Indeed yoga also stretches your mind by asking you to challenge your beliefs about yourself, your body, your consciousness, your identity and your community. In doing so yoga creates real and lasting change in our lives.

The physical postures produce the added side effects of cleansing the body, ridding practitioners of unwanted fat and healing old injuries. It is a body awareness technique aimed at liberating your consciousness from old, habitual ways of thinking, being and acting and it challenges the limits of the mind and the body.

Raja-Kapotasana_Yoga-Asana_Nina-Mel.jpg

Without regular cleansing, the body collects toxins from the environment, food, and even emotional states that if left unattended can sometimes lead to disease and discomfort later in life. Yoga is as strong as you make it and takes you as deep as you are willing to go, connect to the deepest and most powerful part of yourself and find lasting peace.

I wish you peace and harmony!

Thank you for reading!

Namaste!

Sort:  

well done ! eating healthy, practicing yoga, meditation,... all are excellent life style choices

Thank you for stopping by @mcfarhat. I totally agree with you.

very inspirtional story! I have a similar story, yoga also helped me to overcome a lot and to find so much inner peace, yoga is one of the most powerful healing tools showing us that the peace has always been in us all along, in the power of our breath <3

I totally agree with you. The food we eat and how we breath is essential for our health and well being.

#life
Robert Frost : In three words I can sum up everything I’ve learned about life: It goes on.

Yes, @ainal, you are right. I would say "This shall pass too."

Congratulations @isabellemonisse! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team. If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot. An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59048.85
ETH 2984.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71