You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A day on the New section - Introduceyourself

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Being a newbie myself I often searching through the new section in the hope of helping other newbies but I can get lost and find myself hours later only to nite that in the last few hours I found nothing much of value.

I'm not a huge fan of the vote and follow reposts as I'm only going to folfollow someone I find value in not someone who begs for follows. It's also super annoying when you know they haven't even looked at your post. I had a lady asking me in French to follow her with a huge spiel about how detailed my post was. I had to use Google translate to understand it but given it was on my a picture with no words. It was clear she hadn't read it. I would have flagged her but I only became aware of how voting power works and I would much rather use my limited power for good. Lol.

Sort:  

Oh, this is why I am currently asking the people who are a bit older to the platform to focus on the introduceyourself tag. Most of the times their flags and upvotes are pretty important (much more important than mine) and they may be able to guide the newbies and remove spam pretty efficient. It is true that this involves hard work. I have spent plenty of hours there in order to clean things up a bit and I am sure that this is not enough. And in what involves spammers that are writing to your post without even reading it, you can see that here at my post was a guy (@alirajput44 (25)) who commented and welcomed me to the platform as this would have been my introduction. Which is not :)) you can see that after I replyed to him, he deleted his comment. Usually with this kind of guys who spam I firstly check their other comments, in order to see if they spam everybody and how much they are abusing. After that I just warn them. If they don't stop there, I flag a few spam posts. If that doesn't stop then, I get a little angry (which is not happening too often at all) and ask the help of a person with much more SP than I have. It was only one case when I needed to do so, and the guy who helped me remove spam was @swissclive. He is totally dedicated to the good of this platform and his flags erased the visibility of the spam guy (unfortunately for the spammer's account)... Thank you for sharing your experience, I would recommend you to focus on growing your account before helping the newcomers to the platform. This way you will be able to give them a little more help :)

Thanks for responding. Thank you for the advice and the knowledge. i am trying to grow my account and my reputation but know it takes time a dedication, lucky I have one, the other I will find around other commitments, its lucky its Christmas holidays so I can focus a little more than I normally would. I'm working from home today but about to sign off and read Steemit instead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66001.12
ETH 3485.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.15