Traditional us digital - evening thoughts about art creating

in #blog7 years ago

Hi, guys!:)

This evening I decided to share my thoughts about long-lasting kind of holy war traditional art us digital art. As creator of both I think I have something to say about pluses and minuses about each type of craft, and ruin some myths that exist in minds of people who don't draw.

Image credit

Yes, yes, I could combine my own art in such way, but I love the pic too much:)

May be the last theme is the first one to talk about:)

  • Myth one: computer does everything instead of artist.

NO

It doesn't. There is no magic button to push, no magic software to use. The end.

  • Myth two: creating digital art is much more simple, then traditional.

NO

It's the same process of creating, as it is in traditional. Sketch, seeking for the right composition, seeking for the right color palette, drawing - all the same. With some benefits, of course, but in general it's all the same.

Now, when I said my "UUURRRGH" about two main myths, I can continue talking about pros and contras of each method peacefully:) 

I really love them both, plus switching from one to another is a great way of developing your technique, style, and a possibility to try something new to refresh your skill. Many techniques I use in drawing I use in both: digital and traditional, cause after all these are both art. 

I use Wacom Cintiq 13 Pro to draw in digital, and all the mediums I can find to do it in traditional. Of course, the first benefit of digital art is that you don't have to go to the art supplies store each time you want to try something new, all the mediums you can imagine are there in your software, you just have to know how to imitate them. But anyway it's not a cheaper solution, the first investment in digital art is always massive. You need a powerful computer, and you need a tablet.

Talking about Cintiq, by the way... I got asked all the time what is that tool I use, and I see that people imagine it like some kind of regular tablet with additional pen. Lol, NO again. It's a professional tool for artists, that actually presents itself as a regular monitor with extra possibilities. It has no software and it can't exist without a computer (my model).

So, since I can work with my monitor for digital art only at home it leads me to first benefit of traditional art creation. I can do it everywhere:) But here also exist one more important feature: traditional mediums, especially if you love big formats, takes A LOT of space in your house. At the moment all the time I try to limit the amount of my mediums, cause they are EVERYWHERE. 

In general the only major benefit that digital art gives, and what makes it easier to work with - you have millions of attempts. And this is why I love it so much. And probably will go and take one more now:) 

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Myth one: computer does everything instead of artist.

Oh this one drives me insane too! XD One time someone asked what I was doing and I said I was stuck on the "twisty horns from hell" for this character:

and this person absolutely could not understand why I would take so long to do this because "don't you just design it and the computer does it all for you?"

There was also a comic that illustrated it beautifully (in fact I'm sure there's several but I couldn't find the one I thought I'd faved and Google image search was remarkably useless) XD

traditional mediums, especially if you love big formats, takes A LOT of space in your house.

Computer gear can take up quite a bit of space too. I often joke that the sole reason we would never be able to make a tiny house work is because my rigs would take up half of it XD (I not only have the rig that I work on, I will also have a render node soon as I can save up enough money for one, and then I want one of those giant oversized cintiqs...yeh I need a better way to make money XD). As it is I'm taking up an appreciable amount of the common room my rig is in.

Having seen the amount of space a friend's trad art materials take up (she now has a studio but still so much stuff comes into the house XD) I can imagine what your place might look like :D

goatsig

URRRRFH, when it comes to 3D I become especially fierce! But in me case I found the way to solve the problem (with closest people, with my mother-in-law, for example). I was showing my digital portraits and she said something like that. I said - OK, and seat her in front of the empty canvas in PS, gave her my tablet (in that time I had Wacom Intuos, intuitive tablet). And asked her to draw something, at least a stick man and see how different it is from drawing on paper. From that case I had no more questions from her:)
P.S. Wonderful horns!

Ooooh, I also want that giant Cintiq... Damn, it's sooo expensive, but I hope one day I'll be able to have it:)

Haha brilliant tactic with the mother in law XD

It's only been a couple of people that struggle with the 3d thing for me, because they haven't seen it done. Though the funniest one was not directed straight at me, there was an argument on the 3d forum at deviantart (many years ago when I actually used to go in the forums) where people were arguing if Poser/Daz artists were "real" 3d artists, and then some bright spark came up with something along the lines of "no human could ever make a model that good" as they seemed to think the program did all the work and they just used it. Someone else had to point out that humans made the models and the rigs that shipped with the program. Maybe one of these days the programs will be smart enough to do the models themselves from just a human giving them a description but not yet ;D

Thanks :D I'm stuck on his tail now DX

Right?! Maybe one day we'll have enough steem ;D

goatsig

OMG that looks like a crazy forum conversation. I would break my nose with facepalms:)

"seeking for the right color palette"- I think this is one of the biggest advantages, in terms of time. Sometimes I have a terrible time trying to mix my watercolors to get the exact color that I want, whereas I can easily select it digitally, and, once I pick that color I can always go back to it digitally - the EXACT color- but with watercolor/oil etc. you only have the first batch of that color and once you run out you'll never get that exact same color again! Good write up!

Yes, in watercolor it's the pain to mix the same color again:) In oil too:)

I think both ways are the same. Whether it's digital or manual, one thing is certain. If you are a person who has a high artistic image, any medium will still produce a beautiful artwork 😊

Too bad the learning curve is quite tough though. As a former media designer I know the pain Q.Q

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64344.88
ETH 2629.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83