Smaug - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien second calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

I couldn't wait till tomorrow to start the next series of posts about Hildebrandt brothers, so I start today:)

We already went trough all the illustrations of the first calendar, year 1976. Now let's go through the second one, year 1977.

January month begins with a truthly awesome illustration - Smaug on his gold:

Look carefully through it. Such power, such might! I can't avoid notice that style changed a bit. Now drawings are more naturalistic. I nearly can feel the heat of the fire!

Paw attention on the treasures. Tim Hildebrandt said that he used his wife's jewelry for references. Exactly - diamonds.

By the way, Smaug is the second dragon in brothers artistic career. First one was the dragon from the story " Smith of Wootton Major", also by Tolkien. I can't find good resolution image and don't have the book (WHYYYYY?!?), but here it is:

If you haven't yet read it - do it, Tolkien is not only the Lord of the Rings and Hobbit, all his other fairy - tales are awesome as well.

Here we have a sketchdrawing for Smaug:

So, what do you think, it's just me or the second calendar starts with a really much more powerful and colorful image?:) All the other illustrations are a bit different in technique as well. Tomorrow we'll continue our journey:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I love Smaug!! Thanks for sharing! :)

I'm really enjoying these stories.

Have you ever heard of the Mythgard Institute? I think you would like some of the stuff they do. They have a whole series of free seminars on Tolkien's works – the guy who started it even calls himself the Tolkien Professor. You should check it out.

Oh wow! Thank you so much for the link! I never heard of it and will be really happy to check out (checking out right now in fact:)

I really like this post of yours @inber! Upvoted & Followed you as well!

Thank you:)

I have a copy of "Smith of Wootton Major". It's been many years and several moves since I last read it. I'll see if I can find it when I get home tonight.

Does it have any other illustrations? Or just the cover?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59020.34
ETH 2514.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47