Great American Pin-Up - Harry Ekman - about woman and dogs;)

in #blog7 years ago

Introduction

It this post I'd love to introduce you to another brilliant master of American Pin Up - Harry Ekman. The reason why I love him so much is not only because his art is tender and feminine, but also because really frequently small cute dogs appear on his artworks. 

Was totally right that man who said 

"Those who think that diamonds are girls best friends never had a dog;)"

Harry Ekman started his career with and at Elvgren, another famous Pin-Up artist, but true success came to him only when he separated from his and started working on his own. 

His primary mediums were oil and canvas. Sometimes you can see sketches surrounding the main artwork, I think it's great to see the process. So, let's jump in:)

Art

I wasn't sure what picture to choose for the first one, that will appear on the preview, they're all vertical after all. So I stopped on this one, which contains sketches and finished artworks.

Pay attention on how the light tissue is depicted in both techniques, it really was Ekman's super power. All his girls are not aggressively sexy, but regular feminine women. Not kight angels like we saw on works by Al Buell, but also not the "girls from neighbourhood" as  seen on art by Peter Driben in previous review.

It's obvious that Ekman had interest not only to woman body depiction, but also to animalism. How adorable his dogs are?:)

Is it just me or you also see a Snow White?:)

Evening dresses and negligees always were a point of high interest for Pin-Up artists. It's no about sex and nudity, it's about woman mystery and seduction. 

May be I have a bit different imagine of how a beautiful face looks with Ekman, by the way:)

See you in the next review about Pin Up next friday:) There's yet so much to go through:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Upvoted and resteemed...
Great stuff @inber... And your interpretations...added an extra charm to the post 😉
Follow me @teenz

Thank you for watching:)

Very nice stuff. Been following your art and all your posts for a bit now. I must say you have good taste in artwork. Thanks for posting @inber . Keep up the great posts. Check out my blog if you haven't already. I've put up a few new things. Not sure if you were following. :)
https://steemit.com/bushcraft/@saved4newlife/bushcraft-gear-multiple-leather-and-kydex-handmade-items-from-vck-leatherworks

Thank you:) I'll check out

Interestingly at the time, beauty in a Man's eye was not the skinny flat chested ones like the models today.

In all times it was different, true:) At the very beginning it was "the fatter - the better":)

Because at that time, no one ever think big was ugly. They weren't really fat, they were just very meaty.
I'd say the most important is to stay healthy and active.
Even the big women at the time (of the Renaissances) were very active women in their lives.

Big shapes associated with good health and that family has enough food, wide hips - with ability to give birth;)

Yep. Unfortunately something went twisted along the way...

Wow, very amazing art you share.
Thanks @inber.

Glad you love it:)

Upvoted ,lovin this style.

Glad I'm not alone here who loves it:) thanks:)

Definitely you not alone ,thats for sure 😎🙂

upvoted and resteemed lekker post

Yet another artist where I prefered his sketches to his finished work.

I also love sketches more:) I wouldn't even call them so, though I did it the post. Just art in graphite:)

Pin up girls are fun!
Awesome pics ;)

Thank you for watching:)

Make america great again?

Great artwork by the way! Keep it coming :)

Thanks:) Next review is next week:)

Love these pictures, they look amazing :)

I love Pin Up, it has something special in it:)

I totally agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64690.76
ETH 3423.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51