Gimly and Legolas - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien second calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

The next illustration in the second Tolkien calendar by Hildebrandt brothers is "Gimly and Legolas":

I must admit I was a bit confused about this illustration when I saw it for the first time. Well, OK, Gimli looks gorgeous. May be he should be a little younger, but in general I really see a low growth and long beard dwarf. I love the axe a lot. With only a few colors the artists managed to create an awesome game of light.

But Legolas?:) When Tolkien wrote "the Lord of the Rings" elves already were his favorite race. They were not when he wrote "the Hobbit", but to LotR times his oppinion changes. Yes, dwarfes are first-born anyway, but is that a reason enough to look more nice and pretty, then an elf does? Or it's just me?

Thouse long nosed shoes again, and old, really old Legolas. I must admit that the hands are painted brilliantly, but these are hands of an old man.

Photo references created for this illustration, as usual:

Did you notice that this time they're colorful?:)

Hand reference for Gimli's hand. That's what I also always do for my pics:)

And Legolas face reference. Much younger ten on the pic, yep?:)

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

I agree with you about Legolas in the pic ;)

You see it too, right?:) Nearly Legolas's grandfather;)

Yes, it's not Legolas, it's his grandfather! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60986.47
ETH 2413.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59