Geckos happy life - everything you need to take care of these creatures:)

in #blog6 years ago

Hi, guys! 

Today I decided to create a long post about geckos care, with lots of photos of the equipment I use to take care of my girls - Gerda and Jar-Jar (I hope in spring I will have at least two more geckos). So, let's start!

Jar-Jar is watching you!

I will start from the top of terrarium and then move inside. So, I have regular lamp for terrariums, just day light, and additional lamp infrared. Almost all stuff manufacturer is Exo Terra.

Infrared light is important in winter period to stimulate calcium production, plus it makes temperature in the terrarium higher, and geckos have better appetite.

Vitamins and calcium. Calcium is something you need to give your geckos every time you feed them, you can just dump crickets in it and then give to your reptile.  Don't worry, they can't have too much calcium:) Vitamins are given with the same way once a week.

Small bowl with calcium must always be inside, so your geckos can come and eat it if needed.

Fresh water, every creature needs access to fresh water. Replace it every day:)

Self-made coconut hiding place. Only Gerda uses it, Jar-Jar is already too big.

Spray. Time-to-time you need to spray the walls in the terrarium with water to keep humidity on the correct level.

Tweezers. Used for catching crickets and feeding the reptiles, one day I will show how do I do it in video.

Liquid vitamins. I usually put one drop in the water, but you can also put one drop on the nose of a gecko, he/she will lick it:)

Hiding cave. The more hiding places you have the better, especially if you have a lot of geckos in the terrarum.

One more hiding cave.

Had to put this fake plant to block Gerda access inside:)

Snag. Good thing for climbing:)

Wet hiding place. I put coconut substratum inside and add water, it keeps it pretty well. Wet hiding place is really important for molting. 

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

What more could a lizard want? It's a damn hotel with service!

The tank looks lovely, I would love to keep these but they are new to me, I need more research on them :)

And don't forget that their feeding scares you:) But... As for me it worth it. And anyway you don't have to take crickets in your hands

Feeding them is the main thing that's putting me off having a box of those critters ewww :)

Is that one big enough for more geckos and can you add a few more climbs to make it multistorey if you do? :D

Although you might need to weight the lid then to make sure they stay in there. Looks like a pretty decent setup to my untrained eye :)

goatsig

I plan to paste one more here (big enough, yes), and then buy one more terrarium (tssss, don't tell my husband:)

wooo.. amazing shot. very good light and colour. congratulations my friend

awesome, love for nature and pure nature animals are awesome. You have great mind and better mind setup for your girl. @inber thanks for this explained guide.

Привет .Круто ты сделала мне нравится.Теперь им есть где разгуляться.Какой возраст у них?

i upvote and follow you. just read this and everyone will be your fan due to pure love and passion for this small creature. Thanks dude you made my day.

DQmd2jgHAFSARX2WwPVxAu6je8WXij4twTsnYfZtGfBY1b6.gif

This is vary beautiful post i appreciate post thanks for sharing this blog carry on..

How beautiful your geckos Gerda and Jar-Jar it is notice that you love them very much I liked your post thank you for sharing. :D

Very nic posts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95