City of Nazguls - Hildebrandt brothers Tolkien calendar, my stories about illustrators:)

in #blog7 years ago

When I started this series of posts I had no idea that there will be so much of them. But here I continue the story, and there will be more then 12 posts in the series. Hildebrandt brothers didn't stop with just one Tolkien calendar, so...

So the next illustration. Frodo, Sam and Gollum near Minas-Morgul:

As usual before the final illustration saw the world numerous references and sketches were created. Seeking for the right point of view for Gollum:

Greg Hildebrandt Junior posed for exhauster Frodo. On the first sketchdrawing Gollum was looking at Minas'Morgul, but in final drawings artists turned his head to the hobbits:

This is one of my favorite illustrations among all the series. I would make it darker, Minas-Morgul after all it is, but I think the artists just were not allowed to create too dark and scary images for the calendar.

Thank you for watching:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Nice character ... :)

nice story! illustrators' lives and stories are rarely told :)

So true! But I'm trying to seek for the stories. Being an illustrator myself I find it really exiting!:)

coool artwork!! upvote and follow @artpoet

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62856.64
ETH 2425.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67