All night in gecko dreams - my lizard plans for future

in #blog7 years ago

Hi, guys!

It's winter, and most reptiles are in winter sleep. Mine are not, it's optional to make domestic geckos to sleep in winter. When I had snakes I also didn't make them. After all, the importance of it is most critical for breeding, and yet I don't plan it. But I plan it in future, and that's why recently I started looking for male gecko.

There's a lot versions of colors of geckos (morphs). I have Super Hypo Tangerine (Jar-Jar), and Mack Show (Gerda). But these are just two from more then 50 existing. And they're all different, bright and interesting, but some of them are really hard to find.

So, what did I do. First I tried to call all gecko breeders I could find in my city and found out, if they have young geckos for sale. When I was already absolutely sure that there's no chance I ordered geckos from the nursery in another city, and at the moment I'm waiting for their response.

These are morphs I actually would like to have:

Image credit

That's "Black Velvet". Their body is black, so that's how the name came. Really rare, so I only hope to get one.

Image credit 

"Galaxy". White body with black dots, a really magical morph.

Image credit

"White face". Has a white spot on a muzzle in shape of letter "V". 

At the moment my goal is to get one more female gecko and one male, and then, when time will come, try to breed them. I think it will be an awesome experience, and btw this night I had dreams only about it, so I really want it a lot:)

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Hey, breeding is an interesting topic. Me and my brothers breeded crown geckos for some time but it is difficult. I find it really interesting that the temperature of the eggs decide what gender they are. There is an enzyme in the egg which only works above a certain temperature which produces oestrogen the female hormon. Did you have any excperience with breeding?

Yet no, but I collected all info I could, and hope I will succeed:)

Nice. Good luck and maybe we'll see some posts about your journey as a gecko mom :)

There are many versions of the color of gekos (morphs). They are all different, bright and attractive, but some of them are really hard to find. We got a lot of information through your post. Thanks for the nice post.

Wowww amazinggg

They look like cool little morphs.
Good luck in your gecko journey.
Steem on :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45