I'm losing confidence in Steemit

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I feel like I'm not even a minnow, I'm a baby minnow making pennies for hours of work.

I posted articles on here almost every day for two week. I put a lot of work in. Some of the things I posted were old poems, old essays I've written, old stories. I tried many different things and nothing is sticking. I tried going hiking all day taking pictures and showing how beautiful my town is.

https://steemit.com/travel/@ianmcg/lagoon-valley-and-the-vacaville-foothills

DQmPzbtmAZGMmLqvj1jc1YZju9axQod7cphrTxAJC6heCRW.jpg

I tried writing how-two guides. I tried writing reviews. I tried holding a contest. I can't seem to find anything that works on here that isn't a waste of time. I don't want to make it rich or anything, but like maybe a dollar for 2 hours of work? The only money I have made is from my one friend that gives me a penny every now and again. One time @adamkokesh gave me $0.65 for a comment... After I watched like 20 videos and tried to write good comments on all of them.

I came here with the prospect of finally having a place to release creativity and productivity for a purpose. I like to create things, I like writing. Although, I may have found a few cool people and I've renewed my interest in cryptocurrency. I am starting to loose my interest in creating articles. I have a lot of old essays I could post and plenty of things I could write how-tos. I have tons of stuff I could review, although my tastes are in old 90's things and stuff that people don't like. I haven't posted anything in a week and I feel like it has been a waste.

I spent hours researching Steemit, reading articles and watching Youtube whales. I found out about @curie. Also found out I couldn't post anything from myself. The chances of anyone posting my stuff there is completely by chance. I found out that all whales say the same thing.

"Post every day bro"

"Post quality content bro"

They can blow that out there blowhole. It's a lie and doesn't matter.

Well, I dusted off one of my favorite stories I wrote. Everyone I know loves it. I posted it and even told a few people about it. It started getting a bunch of views. Then it stopped. I didn't get a single like that night. Checked back after I woke up the next day and 20 more views and a few $0.00 votes... It's right here.

https://steemit.com/blog/@ianmcg/the-tale-of-tater-salad-jones

It it really that bad? Am I the guy on American idol that thinks he can sing and everyone is laughing? Add insult to injury the freak'in @steemcleaners flagged one my favorite short stories I have written as plagiarized because I forgot I posted it on Deviant art years ago. Great...


Me

I was like man. I need to just post something I put time into. People on here love crypto, I'll research a crypto thing. I spent hours researching DogeCoin faucets. I found the best way to make up to 10 Doge a day without any effort. I wrote a detailed article with step-by-step instruction. $0.01 and a spam comment...

https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@ianmcg/i-make-20-doge-a-day-passively-and-5-doge-in-5-minutes-exploting-faucets

Why bother? Seriously losing interest. I thought this place was supposed to be somewhere where you could find value in effort. What am I doing wrong?

Sort:  

So let me just say some words here:

First of all, no you are not wrong with your feeling of just making pennies. I think most of us newcomers is just doing pennies. Take some time to research for discord groups, join minnow support groups.

Second point is, that we are all on a grind. Have a look into the future, if you keep on track, figure out how bots are working, yes you will have some steem power, which will earn you more money.

I don't personally don't see the point to see steem as income opportunity. I make enough money on my regular job, so i don't see steem as an Business but more like a chance to be a bit more creative or just share stuff i like or is bothering me.

I'm in no way trying to make money with Steemit or delusional enough to think it's a career, but it would be nice to atleast make a McChicken or two worth of SBD for a few hours of work... I'm beginning to think the only way people make more than a few bucks is through bots.

okay sorry did not interpret you post right. Totally right, atleast 1 dollar is always something nice, since some stupid memes get over 50 bugs, although with the help of bots

Great post...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63162.99
ETH 2567.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82