Hail to the King: 'Durian'

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

Introducing the King of fruits - 'durian' pronounced as (/ˈdjʊəriən/ or /ˈdʊriən/)

20180112_110832.jpg
Look at the plump flesh! Yummm. This is Cat Mountain King, 'Mao Shan Wang' in Chinese.

Over here at my country, 'durian' is grand pricey fruit. Not everyone is affordable to eat it especially durian of special breed. And also not everyone fancy it. For those who love it, like me, you will describe it as fragrant pleasing aroma that once smelled it creates a vivid memory in you to lure you in search for it. For those who dislike it, you will term it as an odour, unpleasant one, that you would want to stay away with. Therefore, it is up to one's discretion. You need to taste it to actually accurately decide whether you love it or you hate it. If anyone of you happen to come to Malaysia, Indonesia or Thailand, you must not miss the chance to taste 'durian'. After all, it is the king of fruits.

There are different types of 'durian' and something special about it is each type comes with different aroma and taste. They ranges from sweet, bitter, nice-pungent, alcoholic taste. Or even in between of each. That makes each breed exclusively authentic.

Let me further entice you with their names, if they are not weird, then they are peculiar. The different breeds of 'durian' are Cat Mountain King, The Golden Phoenix, XO, D24, D13, D1, D101. We have also Red Prawn, Green Bamboo and Black Pearl. The cheapest ones are local durian which we call it 'durian kampung' (Village Durian).

FB_IMG_1515587746589.jpg
Shake. Shake. Shake. To feel the weight and condensity. The more condensed the better.

FB_IMG_1515587741465.jpg
Smell it to judge whether aromatic or not. Choose those with strong aroma.

I live my entire life yet to figure out how to hold it well without being pricked and yet to successfully open one by myself.

You should try it one day when the opportunity arrives.

Till then, below are two funny videos about people's encounter with this king of fruits.


100 people try durian.


Jessica Chastain and Jimmy Kimmel Eat the "Bleu Cheese of Fruit".

Have a great day!


![APP.png]()

CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @iamjadeline to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Thank you so much :)

Nice post, How can i get hold of this durian fruit?

Wow I love durian fruit. It's been a while since I last ate that unique fruit.
Any way what's the difference of durian and langka? If I may ask.

This looks like our own jack fruit. It's delicious.

Lol... those videos were so funny!! Never heard of this fruit, thanks for sharing.

hahahaha!

I watched both the videos.

It is true. You either love it or you hate it.

When @fatpandadesign was in Malaysia, we let him tried the mild version of it just to prep him up with the smell.

Starting from the slightly cheap swirl durian ice-cream, then with the ice-potong which is actually more pungent.

However we never really gone to the next level.

The last time I had a real durian fruit was with @chloephuan tasting XO.

And you are right, they are just so pricy these days that one just have to treat this as a luxury; although sometimes I go to Jusco just to get a cheap (yet still decent) RM5 portion of durian, just to satisfy my cravings once in a while.

Otherwise, I'd stick to durian kampung .

upvoted

I don't know if I could try it... Smell is a thing of mine.

It's quite funny to see the foreigners trying our exotic fruit. Hahaha dunno why we enjoy it so much and we can even crave for it :P @iamjadeline

I like bed in Singapore for a few years and came across Durian fit me it's aroma is not something I did or would ever get used to but I did try it once and was surprised to find I did like the texture and taste of it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89