SUCCEEDING AS AN ENTREPRENEUR

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

SUCCEEDING AS AN ENTREPRENEUR.jpg

If you are an entrepreneur, you know that your success cannot depend on the opinions of others. Like the wind, opinions change and like the weather, opinions change frequently also. To succeed at any endeavor, you must stay the course… No matter the cost!
Yesterday I shared a bit of my story and how God helped me to turn my weaknesses to strength and from the lowest university grade to having my own company and businesses. Today I will be sharing with you some surefire tips on what works for me as an entrepreneur. Please note that every point made in this post is my opinion and you may not agree with some of my ideas and philosophy but if you're open minded, you will sure learn something from this.

Here are some of my surefire tips to help you on your journey.

(A.) Avoid Negativity - Negative people are all around us. They can include our loved ones as well as a dear friend. Most often, it is the opinions of total strangers that affects us more instead of the words of those we so much love and care about. Our emotions have a lot to play here therefore when someone close to us says something negative against our believe, we easily follow them because we love them. As an entrepreneur, even your parents could be the one saying the things you don't wanna hear, it doesn't mean they don't love you or want you to fail, they simply didn't see it from your own point of view hence, the reason they tell you you cant do it. I will tell you a short personal experience... In 2015, I wanted to start making liquid soap out of the desire to have something doing instead of being idle. I told my elder sister that we were together about it and her response was that "Think of something else, liquid soap that Iya Bolaji that works for me is making." For a moment, I was going to give up on the idea but after sleeping over it, I decided I won't tell her anything about it anymore, I know I'm a graduate, even if Iya Bolaji does this thing, I should be able to do something differently and unique that will bring me sales. I didn't stop... Few months later, I invited her to where I made my first productions and she was amazed. Her first comments didn't mean she hate me or didn't want me to succeed, as a matter of fact, she's one of the few people that has always believed in me. The products that she said won't sell went ahead to become one of the best in our area back then and i started supplying supermarkets and organizations. So even if you won't pick any other thing from this post today, let it sink in your mind that if you can think it, you can do it!
Someone will ask, "does it mean I should not share my idea with people that I love" ?
No, that's not my point, what i mean is that there are areas of conversation that are less profitable, focus on areas where you know their experience will count. Accept criticism constructively, but steer the conversation away from nonstop negative banter. Negativity will grow on you unless you take control.

WhatsApp Image 2017-10-06 at 4.40.22 PM.jpeg

(B.) Build Yourself Up. - No, I do not mean for you to puff yourself up with pride, rather you can be your best source of encouragement by encouraging yourself. How can you do this? Read the testimonies of other entrepreneurs/succeeders who have gone before you. Current day success stories of people who have gone from “rags to riches” [or from simple means to great influence] include personalities like Ben Carson (The man who's story inspires me the most as a teenager) Oprah Winfrey, Martha Stewart, and Bill Gates. Yesterday’s success stories are numerous and include: Thomas Edison, Harry S. Truman, and Abraham Lincoln. The Bible recorded that when David returned from a trip and his kingdom was scattered, the Bible says before doing anything, David ENCOURAGED HIMSELF! When I wanted to start @shopnowng - Africa's first online store to accept only Bitcoin as the mean of payment, 90% of those I told said it won't work, all wanted me to make it both Naira and BTC which is not a bad idea but because I believe in myself and God, despite all odds, we made and today, the returns hasn't been great but seeing the project every morning when I wake up gives me a sense of fulfillment and joy. Most times, when you have self esteem, people see it as pride, always review your actions to be sure you're not crossing the line between self esteem and pride but trust me, I'll rather be seen as proud than as a man who doesn't know what he wants.

shopnow.ng logo 1.jpeg

(C.) Don't be scared to go back to Square One - If you read my first post, you will see how many times I wrote exams in School. Doing something over and over again (but differently) and failing is the surest way of learning in life and at any point if you ever feel like giving up on your dreams, look back at the reason you started in the first place. Recall those things that encouraged you to take your “step of faith” in the first place. Recall what it takes to succeed: discipline, self confidence, independence, hard work, sacrifice, etc. Look forward to the anticipated results: a good income, independence, a job you love, etc. Finally, remember the worst job you ever did…imagine yourself working there again. Blah! Use whatever it takes to motivate yourself and you'll be flying in no time.

Conclusively, as an entrepreneur, the less enemy you make the better for you. No matter the quality of your products/services, if they don't like you, they will never buy from you, instead they will go to your competitor or be your competitor, don't let this discourage you, competition helps to keep us in check at times so brace yourself up.
I will not end this post without telling you this: Never underestimate the power of prayer! No matter your religion, prayer is one key that opens doors, plan, pray and work!

If you have learnt anything at all from this post, please don't hesitate to upvote and resteem and if you have a contrary opinion, why not? share with me and we all learn. Looking forward to reading from you soon.

Cheers.

Sort:  

This is a one on point, I just wrote an article that relates to your first point.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36