The Life of an ESL teacher: My life for 4 years!

in #blog7 years ago

In many areas of the Philippines, there is a growing number of professionals who are becoming ESL (English as a second Language) teachers. Becoming an ESL teacher doesn't require you to be a licensed teacher but it only demands you to be fluent in the four macro skills namely: writing, reading, listening and speaking. It also entails you to be flexible, unreserved, confident and of course patient. :)

26794171_2029991973687538_1896961553_n.jpg

I have been a home-based English teacher online for 4 years and 6 months now to be exact.

Today I will share to you the advantages and disadvantages of being an ESL teacher as per experience.

ADVANTAGES

1. I can work at home

Working at home is ideal for mothers and students who are sick and tired of the traffic jam. All you need to have is Skype, a good internet connection speed, a laptop with camera, a noise-cancelling headset (for conducive learning), a small working space with a table and a chair, and a passion to teach.

Plain moms are usually busy doing the household chores. Now this job can offer them a really comfortable working condition because they don't need to beat the traffic, or snuck in the closet everyday to pick a formal outfit to wear for work. You can wear literally ANYTHING! xD

2. I own my time

The beauty of this job is that I can work part-time or full-time depends on the availability of my schedule. During my college days up until now, I am involved in different affiliations at school and at church. Whenever I need to do something outside, I don't have to argue the toss. This is the most flexible job I've ever known.

You are working in your own pace! But of course, if you work by the sweat of your brow, you'll get high pay. If not, you'll get peanuts! :)

3. I teach while I learn

This is one of the best qualities of being a teacher - I learn from my students as well. Learning a specific culture can be quite challenging unless you live in their country. But through teaching via Skype, learning someone's culture is very much accessible to everyone.

ESL students are open minded and would always want to share tidbits of their stories in everyday basis when you can build rapport with them. I learned some of their country's lifestyles in general, how people usually deal with their problems everyday and I apply it in my own life. I got some advices from the veterans and seasoned people and educate myself on the things I never knew before.

DISADVANTAGES

1. No benefits

I asked about 10 of my co-workers about what part of being an ESL teacher is the least admirable and most of them had the same answer. Well, it's true. In this type of job where you can be your own boss, no full commitment, no pressure in any aspect of working, then I think no business owners would want to grant you any benefits at all. :) It's a win-win.

I pay all my insurances myself.

2. Nasty Students

I should thank my lucky stars that in 4 years of being an ESL teacher, I only met about 4 nasty students in my entire career. :) I've talked to some of my co-teachers and having horrible students is part of their daily routine. Most of the time, the older guys aged 40-60 are the bawdy ones. As teachers, we are bound to clash one of these kinds along the way.

3. I can't have a bad day

This is the most challenging one! You are always on stage acting as if you are a glorified clown pretending to know everything under the sun! hahahaha... If you have an argument with your boyfriend/girlfriend, you can't show your real feelings because students will see that and affect their mood in the class.

I wanna make sure that I am the best actress for the entire class and get an Oscars! :-D

Despite of all these things, my heart is still for teaching. :) My passion to cultivate the love of learning is something that I can treasure for the rest of my life. ^^

Thank you for reading! :)
Sort:  

I know how hard you work, and the sacrifices, laughters and tears. Be strong always @honeyletsgo. And continue to inspire others!

thank you te :)

Cool to divide your own time for the job, it sounds very interesting to me!

it is really convenient @byiriss. thanks :)

I can relate to your thoughts as I am working as a home-based freelance business plan consultant. The pros & cons of our jobs are pretty much the same, except that instead of your sometimes nasty students I have occasional nasty clients. Cheers! : )

wow that's cool :) those nasty clients are a bit harder though. hahaha.. we can actually complain these nasty students if we still wanna accept their request to get a class or block them forever. I hope you have that feature in your job too LOL.

It sounds like a great job! Being able to work from anywere you want! I am glad that I could meet you yesterday! I wish I had your voice!

hey sash :) yeah. i love this job. you can be an English teacher too ^^

me too it was really glad meeting you yesterday! :) see you next time soon.

And this is my idol @honeyletsgo! I wish I could hear your golden singing voice again. Can I request one song? Please...haha

HAHAHA! supportive gyud kay ka Juls. next meet up juls. kantahan na gyud tika hahaha

Of curz! Kinsa man diay lain mg tinabangay. Be Bibo! Hahaha

I totally agree with these @honeyletsgo! Especially the part where you learn from them. I admire the Japanese work ethic and I try my very best to give them the service they expect. Even if we have to summon the best actress in us. I'm sure this post will inspire all of the ESL teachers out there.

thank you for your comment @thegaillery. We really both have the heart of teaching. I hope we can all inspire people together. ^^ XoXo

Just focus on the advantages and disregard the negatives.
You will get the Oscars this March BTW. :)

I somehow feel your drive for teaching from this blog. Great read

thank you @craigmeister. I hope you'll feel the passion for teaching too soon! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77