You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What If You Treated Steemit As If It Were Your Pension Fund?

in #blog7 years ago

Just on the topic of your post itself, of using Steemit as a pension fund, there's a guy in my town who is experimenting with an actual cryptocurrency retirement fund.

The reason why I think Steemit collects and distills a higher caliber of individuals than Reddit, tumblr, or wherever, is that most people here understand that once its blockchained, its blockchained.

You don't want to say something stupid, you want to think about your image; which makes Steemit its own form of LinkedIn, with "whales" being the CEO types. You don't want to piss them off.

At the same time, you can be comfortable in the fact that if you can articulate the reason you don't agree, that people will give you a chance.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment, I'd love to know more about the guy in your town, is there any online material where I could do some further reading on this idea of his, I was actually inspired to write this post as I've recently stopped my pension fund contribution at work, even though I was only contributing 50% and my employer the other 50% I just felt like since understanding how block-chain works there are countless alternative long term investment opportunities that would be more lucrative than pension funds as we know them, It's an interesting point you raised on the higher calibre of individuals and the hierarchy which has developed in steemit with the whales actually nurturing this platform due to the amount of investment they each have in the platform itself, I hope steemit isn't vulnerable to corruption in future though, would be sad to see it turn into something of a standard ponzi scheme

Last I heard, he was trying to get regulatory approval, due to the nature of superannuation (what we call our pension funds here in Australia) being very heavily regulated. He has a facebook page set up, but I haven't looked at it in a while: https://www.facebook.com/GnosisSuper/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44