You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Makes Good Fiction?

in #blog7 years ago

Some of the best character development I've ever read is in a fantasy series written by Jacqueline Carey - Kusihel's Dart is the first in the trilogy.

The TLDR is young girl sold into servitude as a courtesan, and it is written from the first person - incredible cross of development, suspense, and coming of age.

Definitely a NSFW plotline, though.

Sort:  

I might have to check that one out...it sounds like an intriguing premise. As far as character development goes, I think one of the best I've read is The Hour I First Believed by Wally Lamb. The story is quite slow to build, but is one of the best I've read in a long while. It's about a teacher caught up in the shootings at Columbine, who nearly died and had to hide in a closet, listening to students she knew dying left and right. She survived, but had to deal with the aftermath and psychological damage for years afterwards. The story is told from the perspective of her husband.

Very sad, but I think it's worth a read.

Have you read Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes? Not the "novel", but the short story? I have always thought of it as a brilliant depiction of literal character development. Again, written from the first person, I think its a fantastic read.

I have. Loved the short story, one of my favorites of all time, actually. Another very interesting story with good characters is Into the Quake Zone. I forget who wrote it, but it's a good sci-fi story written in a classic noir style.

We're going to get along just fine! Gave you a follow, keen to see your future musings - first time I've scrolled through "new" in a long while and found something engaging, original, and with audience participation, the three key elements for being successful on Steemit!

Well, thank you very much! I saw your follow earlier, and followed you right back. I try to post at least once or twice a day, normally 1 blog or opinion piece and/or one story/poem.

I'm glad to have found someone who shares my thoughts on the world of literature. I'll certainly save some upvotes for your posts, small that they may be. Thanks for reading!

Consistency is key. Quality will eventually shine through the crap the platform can seem filled with sometimes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59114.57
ETH 2309.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49