More adventures in GPU mining - a wild 1080Ti appearssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

On Tuesday, I recieved a message from @gamblor He told me that there was a deal going on the ASUS 1080Ti. $894.20 AUD. I was very tempted. I waited. I mulled. The noise in my mind about my impending redundancy echoed, and job prospects aren't great. I can mine with a 1080Ti, adding to the hashing power of my 980Ti.

I broke. I purchased a 1080Ti. Today, it arrived. It arrived while I was at work, and the wait until my break to go collect it from the building's basement was pretty agonising. I collected my parcel (and saw that the one that @gamblor had ordered also arrived); and returned to my floor.

I had seven more hours left in my shift. Work finished, I got on the bus. I got home, after a brisk 15 minute walk. I skipped dinner, and tore into my PC. I installed the 1080Ti, relegating the 980Ti to second place on the board. I rebooted and held my breath. It worked.

In about 60 days, not counting electricity costs, I will have achieved a return on investment on this GPU, given that I see the existing card as a "free miner" due to already owning the card.

If I pause to take into consideration the not-insignificant power costs, we can add about 14 days to pay for the power usage of both cards. (I also have a machine using a 270x to exclusively mine UBIQ. (Thanks @elyaque) That machine is heating the bedroom, because it gets cold.

Do you wanna melt a snowman? Come on let's go out and mine. I never PC game anymore ... mine with all the GPU power, It's like the cold has gone away...

(Please note there are no snowmen in Australia and none were harmed in the making of this post)

I am starting to fantasize about building more and more rigs (I'm currently on the look-out for old ATX cases to get the motherboard trays out for use in open-air builds) in order to replace and supplement my impending lack of income.

I've caught the miner bug. Let's hope its not contagious.

Sort:  

This sucks now, I have three GPU's an no money... Why can't I have no GPU's and three money.

You can print money, you just need enough GPUs to render all the "security" features.

A blockchain that creates real world money?

Well done !! What are you currently mining

Its a switching pool so I'm getting paid in BTC for the nvidia rig. Its been focusing on lbry and the equihash algorithms since ive got both cards going.

I have about 100 lbc that I purchased a while back thanks to @condra tipping me to do so, and its had real strong growth since then.

The BTC i make from this rig will likely stay as btc, or I may invest into EOS when it launches.

i just started 20h42m ago mining Ethereum. Since i'm mostly sitting around the computer writing i decided to have my RX480 4gb running at 90% to get a little extra income.
Why have you chosen UBIQ?

Reasons for UBIQ:

  1. No premine or ICO
  2. Has a long term plan to remain accessible to miners(will be mineable with 2GB of VRAM for about another 8 years) - This gives it potential on future mobile chipsets.
  3. The blockchain is stable and enterprise ready as an eth fork
  4. It has the number 8 in it a lot :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61796.23
ETH 2480.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64