I haven't forgotten... (I powered up today!)

in #blog7 years ago

I powered up today, with 260 fresh new Steem.

I've been really busy with my new role at work, and much of my free time recently has been consumed by the healthy objective to take 10,000 steps per day, everyday, for the entire month of September. I've also been consumed by chores around the house, and a few coworkers leaving.

This is a task I began on the 4th of September. I'm on day 16, and I have accumulated 166,847 steps, just ahead of the schedule of 10,000 steps per day. @macchiata has been contributing 2.5SBD on a weekly basis to the cause, and has joined me, in taking a set number of steps everyday.

For those who haven't been following the journey, the 10,000 steps per day is for a charity known as Steptember, which raises money for those with cerebral palsy. If you want to contribute to the cause, please let me know, and I'll provide a link.

Next week, I have a friend traveling down to visit, and will no doubt be very busy being an obliging host. Apparently I'm good at things like that. I'm working on a number of creative projects in the background, and my brain is awash with many ideas, all of them half-thought up. Some are related to photography, others to writing, and even more related to games I want to play.

I purchased a new microphone and plan on doing some narration of me playing games. I've also, as a result, been more active on the SteemSpeak discord channel, and had a great time meeting members of the community.

Things you can expect to see from me, soon:

  • The Completion of my "Straight to Steemit Novel" Project
  • More posts about games, gaming, and
  • Rambling. I've got so much to ramble about.
  • More photography and art. I've gotten Photoshop again, and want to do some more visual stuff.

The other thing that I have been working on, but have not been gaining much traction on is the contest I am running. There's a really cool trophy up for grabs, and a SP delegation. I currently have no entries, which means that the contest will likely go on the back burner.

The main problem that I have is focusing on too many things at once. It is what makes me special. :)

Thanks for reading!

Sort:  

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @scooter77 from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I have an entry for it. I'll post tonight :)
Great banner, btw

You'll win by default at this rate ;)

Two sweetest words in the English language.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Mate, your beard is insane!

Did you get a meetup in Melbourne?

Nah, that was my mate @necromortis!

I'm still in Adelaide, and I haven't heard from him, so I can only assume that his flight crashed. I'll cry at his funeral.

Those are some mad coping skills bro'

Shit, I'm confusing you all now.

Also, sorry for your loss.

The florists are the real winners here.

I'm doing Steptember also! it's a great cause, supporting Cerebral Palsy Research. I have a few posts on here where I'm donating the proceeds from my posts to the cause.

I'll have to take a look for your post about it too. I like how the website has some random "intermediate achievements" and gives you a "pick your adventure" type activity every so often.

Anyway, keep on Stepping! It looks like I'm at 172k steps through Sept 19, so I must have an extra day in my count.

Cheers!

Great work! :) My team haven't documented the majority of their steps yet, and as a result, we're something like 370th in our organisation, (we're doing it through work) and much further behind in the real world, 8,132nd in Australia, and 11,130th in the word!

I keep hoping I'll get the chance to crack out a 20,000 step day, but work has been rather hectic with multiple projects; not enabling me to go for the sorts of strolls that I'd like to. Plan: I'll finish the month off strong. Now, if only it wasn't forecast to rain this weekend...

Thanks! Yeah, it seems like half of my team is nowhere to be found for several days, then they fill in a week's worth of past steps. It looks like we're at 1,483 in the world! It's definitely not from my steps!!

One of my colleagues (I'm participating in this with my job as well) has been doing something around the equivalent of 30k steps per day for at least 75% of the days of the challenge. He's a younger guy (who works out quite a lot, daily). Without him, I think we'd be quite farther down the list.

10k steps are hard enough, 20k just seems like torture =P

For me, 10k steps (when I'm exercising/running) is 5+ miles. If I'm only walking (which I have been doing the past few days), it's around 4.25 to 4.5 miles. PER DAY, that's a lot of moving around!

congrat Nice post, and probably an eyeopener for many. SUCCESS ALL !

What games are you going to be playing? Im assuming its going to be pc gaming?

Mainly PC gaming, but I do also have a PS4 and XB1, but there are no really super compelling titles coming up there.

I have gotten Destiny 2 with my 1080TI, so I will probably put together some rambling behind that. I am hoping that I will be able to finish Pillars of Eternity before Destiny 2 is released on PC. I never played the original, and do not know what to expect.

I'm not hyped, just interested.

You cheat! No wonder you're always ahead. I ain't put a dime into this site yet.

#still59

You old man, you're 60! :P

This is my first power up from real world money!

haha fine, I believe you but I'm going to watch your wallet every waking hour. Which for an old man like me is from 5am to 7pm

Those are pretty close to my waking hours... pity about the time differential...

Wow! I'm exhausted reading about all your 'chores'... :D Bravo for your support and contributions towards Steptember! 'I like words' - I like that, although I sometimes have mini wars with them... All the best for all that you take on... Nice to meet you! Cheers!! :)

When I use flash it is very limiting in color pallets....so I'm still waiting on my new tablet to arrive (I am hoping maybe tomorrow??). So I do plan to enter the contest....if the tablet makes it here in time. :D I just wanna do something dark with it (i hope). :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76