Help! I'm half a dolphin and I can't swim!

in #blog7 years ago

Today, I crossed the half way point between minnow and dolphin. That midway mark is 2,500 STEEM Power, not the 5,000 as I had initially thought.

This STEEM power has been accumulated by way of nearly 400 posts, 1400 comments, and a whole lot of support from the community. I'm serious about the entire heading, however.


Pixabay Source

I'm half a dolphin. That part is true. That's another part. A ''dol -" - I'll get my "phin" soon.

I also can't swim. This part is also true.

As an Australian, this is a potentially fatal affliction, on the basis that our people are surrounded by water, and enjoy hurling our bodies into large bodies of said chemical concoction of elemental hydrogen and oxygen, a lung-filling substance that inevitably, leads to the drowny embrace of death.

I, as a result, have an irrational fear of being immersed in water, which makes summer my least favourite of the Australian seasons. If I am in a swimming pool, I'll be clinging to the edge. If I am persuaded to go to the beach, the deepest I'll wade is to my waist.

The tide (and not those pods) will kill you. Plus, there could be sharks out there.

So, you may ask, why do you persist in the land of a nautical, sea creature themed land of Steemit?

Because it is fun, because of the relationships I've built with people from all over the globe, and the fact that they have rewarded me on a consistent basis for rants, photography, art, more rants, and content about gaming.

Before Steemit, I was at a crossroads, where I wanted to go back to my creative roots, and use the written word and language to express myself. I never expected anyone to read that content, let alone get it to where I am now, a half dolphin who has still not yet learned to swim.

At the same time, I know that there is an immense amount of progress that I can still apply to the quality of my writing. As a result, I am going to be revisiting some old content that I've written previously, and learn about the person I was many years ago, compare that to who I am today, and see what comes out of the blender.

A mid life discovery, instead of a crisis, if you will.

Something calming, something cathartic.

Thank you all for your continued support, upvotes, and encouragement.

That's what Steem is about. Helping each other grow and be better human beings. At least, that is how I feel about it.


Paying some sort of lunatic cat tax. Steemit, in this image, you are my cat, caught in my grasp, for just an ephemeral moment, as my words weave ludicrous, profound bullshit through your mind.

Thank you all, for each and every upvote you've given, for each cringe you've had, and for everyone you will continue to receive while reading my content.

Sort:  

This is an unfair advantage in the comments. You know I love the Matrix. They really should have made sequels. Such a missed opportunity.

I know, right. They could've half sucked and we still would have loved them.
Maybe one day.

Congratulations on this leg of your journey. I'm looking forward to becoming that established :)

It took six months of sitting on a steemit account, and doing nothing, then 3 months of doing a little, and then 8 more months of doing heaps. :)

Persistence is key.

Congrats on becoming a dol!! Those phins will grow soon.. hopefully you'll learn to swim soon!!

Oi man, I'm still struggling to swim. Waves are strong in Steemitpool. Need to grow my fins bigger.

Right on!!!!
"So Long, and Thanks for all the Fish!" ... wait that's supposed to be your line!

As the water stradled against the tongue, those where the last words. :P

Douglas Adams is a fantastic author.

Congrats on the milestone! I've still got a long way to go before I reach that mid-point or full Dolphin milestone, but this is inspiring.

Haha I hope that you will be able to swim soon

Not in my life improvement plan! :D

It is an unnecessary activity, unless you're driving a car, and drive it into a lake, or a river, or an ocean or some such.

Congratulations on being half a dolphin. :cP

I am therefore 1/10th of a dolphin, not enough to get a 'd'. ;cP I guess that means I'm still something much smaller - like a mackerel or something. ^_~

I find it funny that you find the water quite so scary. I'm a poor swimmer myself - but I'll venture out with the help of a flotation device. I also dislike the hot season though - so full sympathy there.

All the best with making it to full Dolphin status. ^_^

for becoming a dolphin perfectly you have to learn swimming soon

Congratulations on your dol good luck on the phin

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59452.12
ETH 2603.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39