'The cycle of life' | Nature Photography.

in #blog5 years ago (edited)

Today, I would like to share with you about one of my favourite plants, Fern and their life. I know I've already shared a few pictures of fern leaves here, but observing and being with them for almost a year has been altogether a different experience and I feel like sharing it too.

"Look! Look! Look deep into nature and you will understand everything. - Albert Einstein."

Ferns have had been here for a long period of time and are one of the oldest plants on the earth. The researchers trace their origin to the carboniferous period, when most of the land animals, including dinosaurs, did not exist.

But, I got to know them properly during last year, when I visited a village in uttarakhand, known as kasar devi. It was the beginning of august and the forests were filled with the beautiful lush green leaves and their artistic vibes.

I came to know that ferns are of different kinds. Because of their long period of evolution, they have evolved in various shapes, designs and sizes. Some of them are even used as food in some communities and have medicinal benefits.

It was pleasant to be with them. Visiting them everyday became my morning mantra.

They refreshed my dull mind, filled me with joy and gave me fresh eyes to look from. It was so happy!

"Those who contemplate the beauty of the earth find reserves of strength as long as life lasts. There is something infinitely healing in the repeated refrains of nature- the assurance that dawn comes after night, and spring after winter." - Rachel Carson.

But, the time flew like a bird and soon, the autumn arrived!

One morning, I noticed a change taking place in the forest. The leaves started to change their color and fern leaves, I believe, appeared the most beautiful, out of all.

I noticed that there was a unique imprint of the season on each of them.

"How beautifully leaves grow old. How full of light and color are their last days." - John Burroughs.

"Autumn is a second spring when every leaf is a flower." - Albert Camus.

The onset of winters..

As the time passed, they kept changing everyday, without any worry.

They were soothing in every way they expressed themselves. I could even feel the soul inside them.

But, the change kept happening and they kept letting go..

"Change is the only constant in life. - Heraclitus.

They kept letting go until they turned as dark as they could.

Some of them, after drying, shrunk to minimum..

" It looked like the world was covered in cobbler crust of brown sugar and cinnamon." - Sarah Addison Allen, First Frost.

I realized how life is a greater and intelligent phenomenon; and resisting it is futile. If those plants were humans, they might have resisted the change too.. and at every step! Every day, we give precedence to our mind's thoughts over the reality unfolding before us. Don't we?

But, are we more intelligent than life ? Of course, not. I wonder if that's the reason why nature has no will of its own and live according to the universal intelligence. It definitely knows the secret of being joyful amidst all the chaos.

"I hope I can be the autumn leaf, who looked at the sky and lived. And, when it was time to leave, gracefully it knew life was a gift." - Dodinsky.

Soon, the monsoon would arrive and seeds would sprout again. A new change is just around the corner. And, I'm waiting to witness the miracle again.

"It is the secret of the world that all things subsist and do not die, but retire a little from sight and afterwards return again." - Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Wow that black and white image is so beautiful!

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.

Hi himalayannomad,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Your photos are just so cool and thank you for taking us through the life cycle of the fern. It's amazing how it revealed its beauty with each season or cycle.

You know, I did know that ferns are really old plants but I had no idea they were that old. They really have stood the test of time. They must be one plant that is not easily affected by plant diseases, or maybe they are just resilient. Living through all these years definitely do tell a story.

And the different species, I had no idea they existed. Actually, I had known about just one all my life, that's the one in the last photo(well, probably because I never have done a research about fern). I love how you took the last photo with the fern at the back of your hands too, it's so cool! All the different species have their own beauty.

@audreybits thank you for your warm words. Indeed, each phase of transition was magical. I enjoyed a lot. And, I can see how you also enjoyed watching the leaves turn.

I love how you took the last photo with the fern at the back of your hands too, it's so cool!

I also like it very much. It was my wife's idea ;)

Thanks for the visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yeah! I was so astonished by them😊. You must have felt really blessed to be surrounded by such beauty.

She came up with such a nice concept, it definitely is easy to fall in love with that shot.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by himalayannomad from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @himalayannomad! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 6000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 7000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

I love Ferns, there are so many of them in NZ and they are on the uniforms of many of our sport teams

Yeah! I've also seen it on the uniform of NZ cricket team. It looks so cool with black background.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yes indeed the Silver fern it is a called :)

Ferns are an old favourite of mine

Then, some time, you can also share a few ferns from SA. I would love to see them :)

Posted using Partiko Android

This is a great post, true of meaning and very pure.

Life for all of us is same and its bound to happen. It depends on us if we want to live in a misery. Great observation!

Also I have a question:
Do you know that particular fern plant which gives you tattoo imprints? I kind of miss that one. 😁

No, bro. I've no idea about tattoos :D
Glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you very much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations and thanks for sharing this delicate collection of nature's art creation! Most of the time we find beauty in the most simple things. Love the pictures.

Thank you. I'm glad you enjoyed the post ! :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59241.52
ETH 2989.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71