Utopia or Dystopia – Just the usual holiday dilemma :-)

in #blog6 years ago

apocalypse-2943286_1280.jpg

Every January is reserved for easy topics, and when I say easy I mean writing about possible scenarios of a dystopian society that will inevitably lead us to the end of the world.

You can notice from the sentence above that the holiday spirit is slowly fading :-)

But before everything I didn't manage to get done in the last year shows its ugly face in the New Year and bites my ass, I will take a little more of this break and write about some conversations, ideas, and fragments of inspiration I had.

So, in the beginning, there was Steemit.

Last night I went to the pub and had some interesting conversation with a friend I haven't seen for a long time. He works at the University as the assistant professor and is actively involved with fellow poets and writers in many activities. We talked about a magazine which he wants to run, and is struggling to get the necessary funds. Naturally, my first association was open project calls, then I caught myself how I'm suggesting crowdfunding, only to end with Steemit as a perfect solution. And I don't know if he will do it, but will send him all information I can. We also had a short conversation about the importance of web decentralization and we both agreed that the battle for future of the internet is happening right now, even we often are not aware of that. It was just a chit chat so there are no important conclusions that I can share with the rest of the world :-)

Later that night, my good friend joined Steemit and made her debut post and I think she will stay here for a long time (please feel free to check @vranilo).

Now I'm thinking about the simple fact – Steemit is a user-friendly platform, and its members might be the early adopters of the completely new concept of creation, organization, and validation of online content. Everyone can use it without many difficulties, and It looks like that won't change with the introduction of SMT. We are witnessing the great things in this community every day – many initiatives tend to improve the quality of life in different communities, and that is only the top of the iceberg. But when everything explodes and many others come, what will shape the future of the new web? There is no doubt it will be the common users.

My name is Legion, for we are many

Ok, maybe this quote is a little too much, but money component will posses many turning them into the spamming demons. That’s ok because similar people are everywhere. There are greater decisions in the game, and we all will shape them together. If the decentralized web concept where every person can be recognized and rewarded for its activities don’t sound utopian, then I don’t know what does. One place for everything and justice for all!
But when we say anything, that s literary anything. From greed to good deeds.

So many small and not so small decisions can turn utopia into dystopia. As I can imagine bright decentralized future based on independent content, SF creator in me whispers about dark days in which our lives will be evaluated on the quality of content we produce and submit to the global network. I know that day is not even close from now (nor I have real arguments for this – but its January remember?) :-)

But let's pretend for the moment that it could be possible. In order to prevent that, every person in this community will play a critical role. Freedom also means a great responsibility, and if we think about changing the things for the greater good we will have to change ourselves and the way we approach the content today. From minnow to the whales, and not only here.

On the other hand, we can just relax and enjoy the ride. What happens in future, stays in future.

And from tomorrow, I will stick to the writing and urban planning :-)

Sort:  

Its really hard to tell what Steemit will be like in the future. If someone likes the platform, I think they have a responsibility to help curate as much as possible as well as attract quality talent. Keep it up!

Exactly! You have an good blog BTW, i will follow!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hidden84 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Interesante información.Saludos @hidden84

Thank you, I am glad you found it interesting...:-)

Great work man, I'm happy you're inviting people to steemit it's a good one. I hope his magazine works out well and I'm quite interested in seeing him here.

Thank you! Well, about the magazine - they have online edition, and I am not so sure (on the second thought) could the print edition be a good way. But imagine what Steem Media Token can do for their online magazine :-)

It's gonna be awesome, they'd be among whales in split seconds. Will actually join them :p

man this photo scare me

Haha...The Exorcist is evergreen scare :-)

Thanks for sharing info on Steemit with friends and colleagues @hidden84. This is indeed a very versatile platform that is blossoming into being a great new innovation for humanity.

I hope that we will see its impact in the next few years :-)

This year steemit will go on top and its future is looking very great.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 60191.28
ETH 3302.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36