The Smelliest Fruit I've Ever Eaten, Durian in Jalan Alor

in #blog6 years ago

When I was in Kuala Lumpur for the first time, I stayed in a capsule hotel close to Petaling Street. This street is a very famous fake market in KL. I was planning to shop a little bit for my travel. I found and bought everything that I need but it was not easy and comfortable to keep them on a bed in a capsule.

I was ready to tour the city. I started to walk from Petaling to KLCC (known as Petronas Towers) after the sunset. The view of the towers was dark on the night. Then I felt hungry and started to look for a night market as I get used to it in Thailand. An expat told me that I could find delicious food in Jalan Alor. I decided to go there. I was walking again in a metropolis on the night and I was never feeling any curiosity as I feel in my country. This is another one of best feelings why I love the life in SEA.

Then I found the food street Jalan Alor in the heart of the city. After having some good shrimps and beer, I saw a different fruit for the first time in my life. As I came closer to it, a sharp smell was getting stronger on the air.

Number 1 - The durian seller is happy with his many customers. Durians look like a cannonball with sharp edges. At this distance, I was very uncomfortable with the sharp smell. But after a while, I got used to it.
1.jpg

Number 2 - Thick-sliced inner parts of the fruit are ready to be served. The numbers on them are the prices in RM,Malaysian Ringgit. ( 1 $ = 4 RM approx. ) This fruit is kinda expensive. It is a strong aphrodisiac and has a high nutritional value. Also the local people say that this is the most delicious fruit according to SEA people. I also tried and liked it. My point is 7/10. I took 3 points off because of the strong smell. Next time I will try to like it more. :)
2.jpg

Number 3 - They also sell it on the markets in boxes like this. These are cheaper than above ones.
3.jpg

Number 4 - A photo from the center of Alor Street Food Night Market. Crowded but cosy with its delicious different type of cuisines.
4.jpg

Anyway, it is still much better to smell durians than the exhaust of the traffic in a metropolis.
Wish you good smells!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59583.90
ETH 2578.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48