Sticking With Routine To Pass The Time While Thoughts Percolate

in #blog6 years ago

Looking at my blog, it's been over two weeks since I lasted posted. It's funny how time drags on, then suddenly disappears.

The girls and I have been keeping to our regular schedule. Just trying to pass the time with chores, cooking, work, etc. For the last two weeks I've had a lot brewing in my mind. Not just about Matt coming home, but things I've seen in my social media feed, in the news, etc.

Perhaps you've heard the expression, "Men are like waffles, women are like spaghetti." Men tend to think linearly, working through one thought or situation at a time - like the squares in a waffle. Women mix all their emotions, thoughts and situations together - like a plate of spaghetti.

When I'm working or dealing with business, I can be more waffle-like, but there are times when a particular problem just won't let go. It hovers in the background, growing as time passes, then seemingly inundates my life. And then my mind is a jumbled mess of spaghetti, though the feeling is more like a pressure cooker, heating up, steam building, the atmosphere becoming more intense. Depending on the problem, letting off "steam" helps - not in the traditional sense of letting out anger, but writing down some of my thoughts or talking them out with Matt.

But this time was different. I knew that I needed to let the thoughts fester and percolate. I mentioned a few things in passing to Matt, but kept working out the problem alone. My mind was so distracted, I couldn't even blog about the little day-to-day things.

Just before the weekend, the thoughts finally began to emerge as coherent sentences. I started writing them down, editing, rethinking, writing. After a few days, a sort of essay formulated into a post for our website. The website is linked to @ironmanmatt's Steemit account so here's the article in case you're interested in seeing what two weeks of brewing thoughts produced.

If you do read the article, I'd love to hear your thoughts. Drop them in the comments here or tag me in comments on the actual post.

Less than a week until Matt comes home! The girls and I can't wait!


After another fun afternoon of swimming - tired, but happy

Sort:  

Hi @helenoftroy,

I read the article you posted on @ironmanmatt's account.

I think one of the issues with intimacy in marriage is that a woman's sex drive peaks in their 30's but a boy's sex drive usually peaks in their teenage years. This mismatch can cause problems for married couples, but don't get discouraged.

Every one of us has some sort of issue or challenge to work through since it is in our nature to want more and better than what we already have. Even when you resolve this issue there will be something new that needs to be solved tomorrow, but having said that, I wish you and your husband the best married life and I hope your relationship will offer the romance you are looking for.

Keep in mind that @ironmanmatt's thoughts might be more focused on survival, sometimes that gets in the way of intimacy.

Good luck and have a good night!

Hi @chrisrice, thanks for taking time to read the article! It took Matt and I awhile to get down to the heart of it, but we were struggling with our own idols and guilt. Matt struggles with the idol of power and because of things in his past, he was afraid of using me in sex to gratify that idol. In addition to that, my idol is fear of rejection. Instead of understanding Matt’s hesitancy to have sex, I only saw it as rejection and tried to manipulate him with my emotions.

As we confessed our sins of the past, forgave each other, and encouraged each other in God’s promises, we were able to find enjoyment in each other. We’ve been married four years now, and thankfully every year gets better!

It sounds like @ironmanmatt and you were able to resolve the issues relating to intimacy. I guess it was just a big misunderstanding.

Hi @helenoftroy. Missed you again here in the platform and was again wondering if there's anything wrong or what. Glad that there isn't. Or is it? I'd better read on the article to find out huh?

Kisses to the two girls who are once again in one of their favorite places, if their most favorite :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @filnette, we’re doing well! Just doesn’t feel like there’s anything exciting to post these days :) I guess it’s like a “watched pot never boils” - waiting for Matt to come back makes everything else feel less important. Lol. I hope to get some good pics of the girls reuniting with him and then hopefully get back to blogging regularly ...

waiting for Matt to come back makes everything else feel less important.

Hahaha. This one is totally understandable. I'd feel the same way if I'm in your place. I look forward to that reunion pics real soon :)

Started reading the article yesterday by the way. Haven't finished it yet though since I wanna spend time to digest on the words. Maybe I could learn a thing or two :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Good to see your new post! Glad that the thoughts got distilled and hopefully the path is much clearer from now on....though...in relationships snags and "branches in the path" are gonna happen. Glad you two were able to talk through it!!

Peace

once every two weeks is still more often than me!

Take care! and know we always love hearing about your family!

Thx!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57560.27
ETH 2570.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48