What is the term "Career" and "Professionalism" mean? A College Student's Perspective

in #blog6 years ago

As a junior in college I always have the constant thought of a "career" hanging over my head. I try to gather my skills and become a one of a kind worker. I explore chemistry and all its different aspects, I pick up hobbies that make me knowledgeable (Coding and Crypto), I make my BEST effort to gain office skills such as operating all the features included in Microsoft office. I constantly think "What can I do to become different from my peers?". I am always so centered on being more than my grades, but how can I possible become better? (A question I leave to you).

As I walk through my life a question burns brighter than any other... "am I happy"? My career is ultimately a destination but if the journey there is not profound and meaningful what can I hope to achieve. I didn't travel all this way to not make an impact. Therefore, I've also moved into areas where I interact with people and help them achieve their goals. Over the summer I worked with children in poverty areas teaching them basic chemistry lessons, and this school year I started working as a Resident Assistant. Both experiences rewarded me with the warmth of others and I will never take them back even if they were a bit challenging at times. I've helped people out for my love of humanity. These two jobs alone have taught me so much patience and understanding. To make connections and to love is one of the few reasons I'm in this world. I feel so amazing when I helped someone through their day or lead them down a better path.


...but at the end of the day am I just trying to obtain another professional skill? My ability to interact with other human beings is being sharpened by my experiences. I'm updating my software for the work place and finding ways to interact with people around me. I feel so robotic because of intertwined ideas of career, professionalism, and life. I perform well against the challenges that I face, and I have trouble picking what to put on my resume. I've obtained goals towards my career and professional life. I guess I am happy but how do I measure it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60752.39
ETH 2904.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73