Can't believe I've been here for 2 years!

in #blog6 years ago

I realized recently that I've just come up to my 2 year anniversary on Steemit. Two damn years. I was thinking about what I could write about, and how to reflect, and after a bunch of pulling back and forth I decided to just kind of wing it.

My stance is and will always be that this community is amazing. I don't just say that. I think it's absolutely fascinating how so many folks can circle around one common interest, and open each other up to so many other things. That is and will always be my favorite part of Steem. We came for the potential and opportunity, and stayed for the talent, personalities, and good vibes.

Lately I've been taking a break from Steem a bit more than I have in the past. I hated the fact that it might be because crypto is in the hole right now, but its, yeah, kind of part of the reason. But this isn't to say that I've lost faith in it, or want to leave. I'm still reading posts almost daily, and I'm still working on Steem Monsters stuff with the team. It's more just the fact that things are slow, so I reallocated some of my attention to other things that need it. I've always been one to work quietly. Usually when I'm silent I have the most on my plate, and this stands true now.

I'm working the full-time gig still. I've also been putting a lot of work into revamping some of my music lessons, so I'm looking forward to rolling out some new stuff over the winter. Steem Monsters is always in rotation, slowly but surely plugging away at voiceovers and processing audio and SFX.

I actually started writing music again, which is really neat. It's been a really long time since I started a new project, and lately I've been making some tunes that might constitute a new alias to keep them consistent. Usually I only write instrumental music, but for these I've been coming up with vocal melodies that I've been painstakingly been trying to put lyrics to. Although I'm not taking it too too seriously, it's so nice to have a little project that's just mine. I enjoy the intimacy of it, and hopefully I'll be able to release an EP or something in 2019 with this new sound. I think it'll be fun.

Most importantly, I'm trying to teach myself to stress less. Another huge part of my absence here has just been poor mental health. I'm not 'unhealthy' to the point of being unsafe, but I was getting into very self-defeating patterns, mainly because I just wasn't paying attention. Letting those kinds of things slide is an easy way to let things get out of control.

Anyway, I'm so grateful for all the people I've met here. Even in these tough times I can almost always look to Discord for some good vibes and thoughtful words, which are seemingly small but invaluable to someone like me. I work from home, and I work a lot of hours, and sometimes days (or weeks) go by without much of any kind of human interaction or anyone to tell me it's not all for nothing -- shit gets bleak. You're all awesome people, and especially during the holiday season, I'm reminded how lucky I am to be surrounded by such a crowd.

We're overdue for that bull run folks, but whether or not it comes, the value here is in the people, not in the token. Much love to all of you, keep those heads up. #steemon

Thanks for reading!

harrisonmirsignature.png

You can follow me and my tunes on Steemit / Choon / Dsound

Sort:  

Congratulations on your 2 year run brother! I know these are difficult times but glad that you are hanging in There! Id like to thank you for your support bro and count on me if you ever need anything! A big hug!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Pechi, you're the man dude. All we can do is support each other! Much love and appreciation, thank you!

HappySteemiversary.png

Congrats Mike! That's great that you are writing again...you are incredibly talented! I understand poor mental health and stress. If you ever want to talk I'm always around.❤️

You're the best @isaria 🤘🤘

Hit my one year mark here today! Happy Steemversary.

Oh nice! Happy Steemversary to you too @iamevilradio!

happy second steemversary

Thank you @yidneth! Keep being amazing.

Dang! Not a lot out there can make that claim. Good o ya man!

Posted using Partiko Android

Dude it's the weird paradoxical phenomenon of seeming like an eternity and at the same time, flying by so fast :D.

I have noticed a MASSIVE drop off in my usual commenters (is that even a word?) and of course my feed is pretty sparse. So you certainly aren't alone in that. I am now following you because of your epic comment on my post. Hope to see more from you :)

Thanks @gooddream! Always a pleasure to meet new people here (new to me I mean, lol), especially in these rough times.

Yep, lately my feed has been 95% Steem/crypto related stuff, and the rest cool content I like to follow (music, art, gaming, etc.). I totally get it and I'm not knocking it, Steem has a lot of work to do to get into recovery mode. But sometimes it's just refreshing to read someone venting about DJ culture or something, you know? :) Cheers dude!

Very happy for you.
2 years here and you focus on steemians.
This is what make this blockchain interesting.
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks @pouchon! You as well!

Congrats on ur 2yr anniversary and good to see your post. Whatever it is buddy, we here for the long term. Keep up the good work on steem monsters....I am enjoying it

Thanks so much @ifeoluwa88, really appreciate the kind words.

And really glad you're having fun with Steem Monsters! I know on my end I have a ton of fun, new sound and music on the bench that will be integrated soon! Should be awesome!

Whao, that is lovely...looking forward to it...

Hi @harrisonmir!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.660 which ranks you at #1604 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 13 places in the last three days (old rank 1617).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 224 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72